RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2014, 12:56 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma Co., California
Posts: 137
Default XPR 6550 programming issues

Anyone here ever use an XPR6550? I have a CPS question (legally have the CPS).
I am getting an error #1027 Region not supported. The radio shows CP Ver. of 11.00.10 but the highest CPS out there is 10.5 currently...What gives?!?

Regards,

-Frank C.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2014, 8:41 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 985
Default

US or Export radio? Sounds like you're trying to use US CPS on a non US radio.
__________________
GARY N4KVE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2014, 12:24 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma Co., California
Posts: 137
Default

Gary,

The Label on the back of the radio says its a US model. The guy that programmed it before selling it supposedly programmed it fine in Colorado.

Regards,

-Frank C.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2014, 3:19 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 90
Default

Frank,

I agree with Gary, either a Non-North America Radio, or a Non-North America version of CPS.

Latest NA CPS is 10.5.551 CP in the XPR is CodePlug version not CPS version..

================
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2014, 5:52 PM
MikeOxlong's Avatar
Global DB Admin/Senior Mod
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Ontario
Posts: 6,369
Default

I've got a Codeplug (CP) version of 13.01.03. This goes with a firmware version of R01.12.11 and a CPS version of 10.5 (Build 551).

Might want to put it in service mode and compare the model # and serial number displayed with the label on the back of the radio.
__________________
Mike.

Sorry but I don't accept PM's. Please use email instead.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2014, 11:50 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma Co., California
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeOxlong View Post
I've got a Codeplug (CP) version of 13.01.03. This goes with a firmware version of R01.12.11 and a CPS version of 10.5 (Build 551).

Might want to put it in service mode and compare the model # and serial number displayed with the label on the back of the radio.
The service mode shows H55TDH9LA1AN instead of AAH55TDH9LA1AN so it was obviously hacked together...

I'm going to go out on a limb and say the XPR is a non-US Model as I know where I downloaded the CPS from (MOL).

Regards,

-Frank C.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2014, 6:54 AM
MikeOxlong's Avatar
Global DB Admin/Senior Mod
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Ontario
Posts: 6,369
Default

That's actually normal.
__________________
Mike.

Sorry but I don't accept PM's. Please use email instead.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2014, 12:41 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma Co., California
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeOxlong View Post
That's actually normal.
What is normal? The mis-matched model number??

Regards,

-Frank C.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2014, 6:23 PM
KG4INW's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 952
Default

It's not mismatched per se, they just (for whatever reason) leave off the region identifier when displaying the model number electronically. Same thing for Waris radios.
__________________
How many radios can one man own? Don't ask stupid questions.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions