RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2016, 7:01 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 19
Default XTS3000 Software "Communication with radio failed."

I have an old XTS3000. I am trying to use the software: Astro Saber & XTS 3000 CPS. The exact version is R05.03.00.

Whenever I try to connect to the device over the COM port, I receive the error message "Communication with radio failed."

I have tried dozens of configurations - in a VM on Windows 7, Windows XP, on a real computer on Windows 7, no dice any way. I have tried 2 USB to serial converters and a hardware serial device.

With the WinXP VM and the USB to serial converter, the radio beeped once and displayed CSO, but that's the farthest I have gotten.

Any ideas? I am out of ideas about what is wrong. Could it be the actual cable to the radio? It is a Chinese-made device, no power - and some of the older ones seemed to want power sources.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2016, 7:10 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,387
Default

It's probably the cheap Chinese cable. Get a genuine Motorola cable and RIB box if needed.

It's been so long since I touched a 3K I can't even remember which cable they use, sorry.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2016, 7:46 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 19
Default

I am a bit of a newbie, what is a RIB Box?
Suggestions on the actual device?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2016, 8:08 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Orleans region
Posts: 2,505
Default

Let me chime in and make a few comments. First of all. the Motorola software was never designed to run under a virtual machine inside of Windows. I know people do it, but I don't suggest it be done.

Some of the older software was wrote to only work in or under DOS. Not from inside Windows in a DOS window or under DOS BOX as some seem to be able to get away with. Plus the older software doesn't know what a USB connection is. But again you will read that some people have found the correct USB to serial converter and it works. But I don't recommend that you program the radios with this combination.

If the radio uses a DOS based software, run it under that operating system. If it needs a serial connection, run a computer with a true serial connection. You can find older computers that some of the computer repair shops may just have laying around with a serial port. I have one locally that I visit frequently and can pick some up.

You might have to rebuild the hard drive or even replace it and load the software again. I tend to use 80 GB hard drives and format them with the FAT-32 format. This way DOS can use the drive as well as Windows. Make 2 partitions on the hard drive. Use about 20 GB for DOS and then you can load Windows-XP in the remaining space. This allows you to use an Ethernet connection to move files to other computers as well as get on the Internet.

The RIB that is being mentioned is an interface box to translate the signal levels between the computer and the radio. You plug the programming cable from the radio into the RIB. On the other side of the RIB is a serial cable that goes to the serial port of the computer. Most of the older radios use this type of connection interface. On the newer radios, many of them use Windows software compatible for programming the radios and you can get a USB cable to go directly between the radio and the computer.

So the bottom line here is what radio, what software it uses and that determines if a USB cable is available. On the older radios that need a serial connection, I can normally make my own programming cables. It just takes some soldering skill and the connectors.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2016, 8:56 PM
Nine29's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 58
Default

Not sure what cable you're using but this one worked for me...

Rib Less Programming Cable Motorola XTS3000 HT1000 Mts | eBay
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2016, 9:06 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nine29 View Post
Not sure what cable you're using but this one worked for me...

Rib Less Programming Cable Motorola XTS3000 HT1000 Mts | eBay
That's what I'm using. Hm..then it must be a software issue? In other words, not in a VM, natively.
This'll be a challenge...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2016, 9:10 PM
Nine29's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farhan00 View Post
That's what I'm using. Hm..then it must be a software issue? In other words, not in a VM, natively.
This'll be a challenge...
I bought a cheap Dell laptop with a serial port and XP loaded and used the cable to program four XTS3000's using CPS. Worked fine for me...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2016, 10:10 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nine29 View Post
I bought a cheap Dell laptop with a serial port and XP loaded and used the cable to program four XTS3000's using CPS. Worked fine for me...
I'm about 30 seconds away from getting one off Craigslist. Before I do, will it work on Windows 7?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2016, 11:06 PM
sefrischling's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New London, CT
Posts: 1,171
Default

Computer needs to be 32bit or slower. I have never seen CPS work as a virtual machine. You need XP as the OS. I use Win2K for the Astro Saber and XTS3000
__________________
I Listen To Stuff For Work ... Which Is Convenient Because It Is Also My Hobby
Current kit: 346/396/996xt, some Moto Astro Sabers, XTS3000 & XTS2500s, Harris P5100 & a few Minitor Vs
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2016, 12:11 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,911
Default

Get a XP machine with a real serial port. The ribless cable works fine for me. Many USB to serial adapters will not work for radio programming.
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2016, 11:48 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 78
Default

I've run that very software, both ways. I've used a Windows 7 machine in XP Mode (with a USB-Serial converter, RIB box, and OEM cable), and I've used a true XP machine with a serial port (with RIB and OEM cable). Both options worked just fine for me. I've also had no problems with MTS software, using the above mentioned methods.

Just my two cents.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2016, 2:44 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,369
Default

There are a lot of serial USB adaptors that do the beep CSQ then fail..........the Cables2Go blue one does that error on my Windows 7 installs. I switched to "Iogear USB to Serial RS-232 Adapter with PC and Mac Drivers #GUC232A $16.95" one, and have not had a single CPS issue since.

I should mention that my CPS's are run off of Windows 7 32 bit VM on a Macbook Pro, and I have to admit, it has better compatibility and reliability than my old Dell laptops with serial ports and CPS. I am also told Windows 64bit doesn't play well with devices that require COM ports and serial to USB converters, something to do with how things are assigned in the OS.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2016, 12:36 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 19
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
There are a lot of serial USB adaptors that do the beep CSQ then fail..........the Cables2Go blue one does that error on my Windows 7 installs. I switched to "Iogear USB to Serial RS-232 Adapter with PC and Mac Drivers #GUC232A $16.95" one, and have not had a single CPS issue since.

I should mention that my CPS's are run off of Windows 7 32 bit VM on a Macbook Pro, and I have to admit, it has better compatibility and reliability than my old Dell laptops with serial ports and CPS. I am also told Windows 64bit doesn't play well with devices that require COM ports and serial to USB converters, something to do with how things are assigned in the OS.

Paul
So, if I read you correctly, you're saying it might be an issue with the USB adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2016, 1:09 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,369
Default

That is highly likely......the fact that the CPS is seeing the radio, but the communications attempt then fails, seems to indicate that the COM adaptor may be the problem. As I said, I had that same CSQ timeout failure error on several (including Cables2Go) that was driving me crazy (on Astro Spectra and XTS3000 CPS) until I found the Iogear adaptor.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2016, 1:17 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,387
Default

My recommendation: For programming any non-current Motorola radio, other than the really old ones that need to run RSS under DOS, get a Dell Latitude D630 or D830 or something in that series.

And you want to run it under XP. NOT Windows 7. It's more stable under XP for this application plus that family of laptops is marginal for 7.

Dedicate this laptop to programming radios and nothing else.

If you have newer radios to program, (APX series, for example) then get a second hard drive to plug
into the drive bay and install 7 on that drive and then install the APX (or whatever) CPS on it. Run 7 in XP mode so it doesn't eat too many resources.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2016, 1:31 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,369
Default

I have an old small (14") Dell D630, which I use for dual boot Win 7 32bit and DOS 7.1. I put a cheap SSD in it, and it boot's like a modern day low end laptop. The D630 is compact, and doesn't feel like most larger old laptops which seem to flop at the hing. It has a serial port, and Windows 7 32 bit is happy with all CPS and the DOS 7.1 runs any RSS I have thrown at it. I think it has a 1440x900 screen to boot? :-)

D630 is a 2007 era laptop, so it was alive and on the market when Windows 7 32 and Astro CPS was still "shipping".

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2016, 10:47 AM
lamonttreid's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 5
Default

I too run the Astro Saber & XTS3000 R05.03.00 version cps on my XP machine. Its an old Gateway desktop from like 2005, and I connect to the XTS3000 with an IOGEAR GUC232A, usb to serial adapter. It has no issues with connectivity. When I tried to run it on Windows 7, I couldn't get it to connect at all. Not on a Virtual Machine, compatibility mode, changing ports, NOTHING. I too have that same ribless Ebay cable mentioned by Nine29 in post #5
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2016, 8:42 PM
radioguy99's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 45
Default

The XTS3000 uses the R5.03.00 CPS which is windows based. The cable is the SAME as the HT1000/JT1000 and Jedi series radios. The XTS3500 is the ONLY one that runs under DOS and that is also a radio that uses the Jedi series programming cables. Use either a 9 pin serial ribless cable or a true Motorola JEDI series programming cable that uses the RIB box. I have programmed over 500 of these radios over the course of the year. The other problem these radios have is the mic sidejack will get corroded and not allow communication between the radio and computer. For this just use rubbing alcohol and an eraser to get the corrosion off the jack.

If your using a USB, make sure your using the correct driver for the type of OS your using. XP drivers will not work on Windows 7 or higher and vice versa. This is why a lot of techs try to stay away from USB cables as they are too much of a hassle.

If that is all fine then here is the other steps to use:

1. Open up the CPS
2. Go directly too (File) and click on that
3. Click on (Read Device) and see which com ports are available in the drop down menu. If you have several, then go into your computers hardware parameters and locate which com port your serial cable is on and set this in your software and you should be fine. That is providing the cable is also working.

If you just click the (read button) on the top left below the (file) button, you won't get anywhere except a dead end.

I program all radios from Maxtracs too APX's and this seems to be a common issue.

Hopefully this helps or you got everything working smoothly now.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2016, 9:45 AM
kv5e's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 136
Default

I have run CPS for XTS3K in the native XP VM under WIN7 Pro 64 bit.

I use a real serial port with Kawamall cable and it READS/WRITES fine.

Sometimes after reconfiguring the VM it requires a reboot of the VM.

Ivy Bridge E over clocked to 4.25 GB with 64 GB RAM, I use it for DAW and video editing AND programming my XTS-APX radios.

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2016, 10:00 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,582
Default xts programmoing

A Windows XP 32 bit computer is a good machine for any older Windows CPS. I have had very good luck with cables from Kawamall on ebay. I have one for my xts radios and another for the EFJ radios They do require a real serial port, so an older computer is necessary,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions