RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2017, 11:51 PM
bob-the-scanner-man's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central AL
Posts: 483
Default Desk mic wiring

I recently bought an older Motorola desk mic at a flea market and I'd like to see it it is possible to wire it up for a Maxtrac or Radius and, if so, how.

It is very similar to the one in this picture but the PTT bar on mine is split and has Monitor on one side and Transmit on the other, much like modern Motorola desk mics. Mine was missing the sticker with the model number so I have no idea what the exact model is.

There was no plug at the end of the cable, only terminal rings. There are 5 wires. Shield, green, white, black, and red. The red wire on mine has a small label on it that says "audio" and that's it.

Any ideas as to how I should wire this up? Google turned up no useful info.
__________________
Radioshack Pro-96
Uniden BC-246T
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2017, 11:26 AM
ramal121's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sonoma, CA
Posts: 1,592
Default

Sounds like an old consolette mic. Easiest way would be to get a maxtrac mic cord and swap it out.

You can haywire it to the 16 pin connector but IIRC there is no mic bias there so you would have to add that somehow to get TX audio from the mic element.

For the colors: green PTT high, black PTT low, red mic high, white mic low. Black, white and shield would all go to common ground in a maxtrac.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2017, 5:30 PM
bob-the-scanner-man's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central AL
Posts: 483
Default

Looks like the picture isn't working. I could have sworn I edited my original post to have one. Regardless, the mic is one of those that looks like a handheld mic on a stand. This pic isn't mine. Mine has a split TX bar with Transmit and Monitor.

I may try the 16 pin idea just to see if it works. How would I go about swapping out the cord?

I think this mic is pretty cool so I just want to use it in some way rather than having it sit unused.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Radioshack Pro-96
Uniden BC-246T
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2018, 6:19 PM
bob-the-scanner-man's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central AL
Posts: 483
Default

Bump, still trying to get this working.
__________________
Radioshack Pro-96
Uniden BC-246T
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2018, 3:43 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,983
Default

There are two screws that hold the front of the mic, the part that looks like a hand mic, on the stand. Get a couple photos of the inside, mic element, ect.

Some of these desk mics have a dynamic element and that will not work with later Motorola radios.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions