RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 1:37 PM
Will001's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Pine Ridge, SC
Posts: 116
Angry Xts3000 Programming

Hello everyone:
I just got a Xts3000 m3 800 MHz radio and a programming cable, but when I try to read the radio, it says "Communication with radio failed". I am using Astro saber and Xts3000 CPS on a Win. 10 laptop, and I have the cable plugged in to a USB to serial adapter into the computer's USB port. Anyone know why it isn't reading the radio?
__________________
GMRS Call: WQYT-477
I own too many radios to put in the signature
"A Country Boy Can Survive"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 1:50 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will001 View Post
Hello everyone:
I just got a Xts3000 m3 800 MHz radio and a programming cable, but when I try to read the radio, it says "Communication with radio failed". I am using Astro saber and Xts3000 CPS on a Win. 10 laptop, and I have the cable plugged in to a USB to serial adapter into the computer's USB port. Anyone know why it isn't reading the radio?
Actually yes, I just did this yesterday! Unfortunately it would seem any OS newer than Windows XP doesn't seem to work for me. No matter what I tried I could not get it to read on Windows 10. So if you can take an old laptop throw XP on it and that should do the trick, well at least it did for me.
__________________
Conventional is better than trunking....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 1:51 PM
Will001's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Pine Ridge, SC
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beaker7 View Post
Actually yes, I just did this yesterday! Unfortunately it would seem any OS newer than Windows XP doesn't seem to work for me. No matter what I tried I could not get it to read on Windows 10. So if you can take an old laptop throw XP on it and that should do the trick, well at least it did for me.
Thanks! I might see if one of my old junk laptops with Xp works
__________________
GMRS Call: WQYT-477
I own too many radios to put in the signature
"A Country Boy Can Survive"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 1:53 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 14.020 MHz @ 30 wpm
Posts: 5,195
Default

I'd suspect the Win 10 part of the picture. Determine what serial port number the adapter appears as to the computer, and make sure CPS is selected to that port. And especially, don't be surprised if the serial port adapter is something like Comm 18, and the CPS lets you select up to Comm 4.

I don't use Win 10 for programming... It usually just doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 1:54 PM
equalizer245's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 176
Default

I use windows 7 no problem programming a 3000 or 5000

Sent from my LG-H343 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 1:55 PM
Will001's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Pine Ridge, SC
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zz0468 View Post
I'd suspect the Win 10 part of the picture. Determine what serial port number the adapter appears as to the computer, and make sure CPS is selected to that port. And especially, don't be surprised if the serial port adapter is something like Comm 18, and the CPS lets you select up to Comm 4.

I don't use Win 10 for programming... It usually just doesn't work.
Ok, I'll definitely go look at a windows xp laptop in a few minutes
__________________
GMRS Call: WQYT-477
I own too many radios to put in the signature
"A Country Boy Can Survive"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 1:56 PM
Will001's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Pine Ridge, SC
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by equalizer245 View Post
I use windows 7 no problem programming a 3000 or 5000

Sent from my LG-H343 using Tapatalk
I have a Win7 computer, but when I try to open the Cps on it, it says "File not found"
__________________
GMRS Call: WQYT-477
I own too many radios to put in the signature
"A Country Boy Can Survive"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 1:58 PM
equalizer245's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 176
Default

I'm using an Old Dell d610 to program the radios also using the serial port on the back nine pin if you're using a USB adapter I've heard there's issues with that for some reason

Sent from my LG-H343 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 2:02 PM
Will001's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Pine Ridge, SC
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by equalizer245 View Post
I'm using an Old Dell d610 to program the radios also using the serial port on the back nine pin if you're using a USB adapter I've heard there's issues with that for some reason

Sent from my LG-H343 using Tapatalk
Ok I'll see if I have a computer with a serial port on it
__________________
GMRS Call: WQYT-477
I own too many radios to put in the signature
"A Country Boy Can Survive"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 2:42 PM
Homeboys-Scanna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by equalizer245 View Post
I use windows 7 no problem programming a 3000 or 5000

Sent from my LG-H343 using Tapatalk
32 or 64-bit?
__________________
"Copy, 132 and Bush, cover's code 3."
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 2:42 PM
equalizer245's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 176
Default

32 what i use

Sent from my LG-H343 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 3:55 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NV
Posts: 67
Default

My very limited experience with programming 3000's is the clock speed of the computer has to be 32 bit. Then the usual trying to get the com port setting in the CPS to match up with the USB port on the computer.
My sister in law was getting ready to send to Goodwill her old XP, I was able to get and still use it whenever I have to program at 3000. Fortunately my agency has almost completely gone to APX.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2017, 6:38 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,377
Default

Use XP, or 32 bit 7, & use a real serial port. Those adaptors MOST of the time do not play well with CPS.
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2017, 3:38 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N4KVE View Post
Use XP, or 32 bit 7, & use a real serial port. Those adaptors MOST of the time do not play well with CPS.
They work just fine when the user reads the README and uses the USB/Serial adapter recommended by Motorola.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2017, 9:11 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N4KVE View Post
Use XP, or 32 bit 7, & use a real serial port. Those adaptors MOST of the time do not play well with CPS.
That's the best advice at this point. It MUST be a 32-bit OS and not any newer than Windows 7. If you use a USB to serial adapter - try to make sure it has a LEGIT FTDI chip in it, the rest are all too sporadic to trust.

This is one of the reasons why I am trying to ditch my Astro Spectra and XTS3000 and move to something newer for P25... I want to keep my computer Windows 10 and not worry about "sunsetting" operating systems. It's bad enough I keep a PII laptop around with DOS for MSF5000s we still maintain...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2017, 10:19 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,551
Default

Most RSS/CPS was written in the XP era or before it. You should have no expectations of it working on anything newer than XP. 7 usually works but I'd never even consider trying to run RSS/CPS on anything newer. I would have no expectation of that being successful and neither should you.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2017, 12:20 AM
snoopyII's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: On the other side of the tracks
Posts: 250
Default

I have a Dell laptop running 64 bit Win7 Pro. Using Virtual XP works well for me. It even allows me to program through a Belkin USB to Serial converter.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2017, 7:24 PM
N1SQB's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere On Earth
Posts: 2,673
Default

Windows XP 32bit on my Panasonic Toughbook using serial port, works flawlessly for me.

Manny
__________________
N1SQB-AMATEUR EXTRA
The difference between men and boys, is the price they pay for toys!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions