RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2018, 9:56 AM
JMR3865's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 531
Default APX HELP

Hi All,
A couple questions on the APX series. I'm looking to use it more as a receiver.

Can the APX

Monitor a phase 2 talkgroup/trunked system without being on the system

Scan multiple trunked systems

Scan trunked systems and conventional channels?



Thanks for the info!
__________________
JMR
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2018, 9:59 AM
Mr_Boh's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: The Land of Pleasant Living
Posts: 161
Default

Yes on all. The last one there are some caveats about conventional and trunked at the same time. I havenít done too much since I typically just scan multiple trunked systems but for trunked and conventional I think the Scan Lists canít be blended but you can scan a Conventional list while parked on a talkgroup and scan talkgroup list while on conventional like the Astro 25 series stuff. Iím sure someone will correct me though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2018, 10:14 AM
JMR3865's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Boh View Post
Yes on all. The last one there are some caveats about conventional and trunked at the same time. I havenít done too much since I typically just scan multiple trunked systems but for trunked and conventional I think the Scan Lists canít be blended but you can scan a Conventional list while parked on a talkgroup and scan talkgroup list while on conventional like the Astro 25 series stuff. Iím sure someone will correct me though.
Thanks

How does one program the radio so thatf it will not try and affiliate with the trunked system

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
__________________
JMR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2018, 10:26 AM
davidzimmerman's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: parma,ohio
Posts: 1,692
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMR3865 View Post
Thanks

How does one program the radio so thatf it will not try and affiliate with the trunked system

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
You just Open a can or WORMS on asking how to program it like a scanner PAY someone to do it for you who KNOWS how do it. Don't try it by your self or your radio will get bricked.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2018, 6:01 AM
JMR3865's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 531
Default

I'm not new to programming. I have been programming for over 15 years, however, I have never programmed a trunking radio nor the APX's.

I was simply asking if there was a way. If someone could explain how, that would be superb! I am not against someone else programming it to ensure that it is done correctly.
__________________
JMR
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2018, 6:18 AM
Mr_Boh's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: The Land of Pleasant Living
Posts: 161
Default

Iím going to sound a bit nasty saying this but Iíll say it anyway - itís well documented here and other sources. No need to start yet another thread on it.

Phase II just adds another minor layer to the programming. If you can follow the steps for a Phase I system and understand what each setting means and why itís set the way it is, you should have no problem doing a Phase II.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2018, 6:28 AM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 6,778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMR3865 View Post
I'm not new to programming. I have been programming for over 15 years, however, I have never programmed a trunking radio nor the APX's.

I was simply asking if there was a way. If someone could explain how, that would be superb! I am not against someone else programming it to ensure that it is done correctly.
The problem is to properly program an APX radio to "No Affiliate Monitor" requires
one to create a bogus System Key which can be (depending on local laws) illegal or or at the very least frowned upon. It is akin to creating a key for a house door lock for a house you don't own and have not been given permission to enter.

Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2018, 8:05 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,603
Default

Except to create a house key for a house you do not own, you would have to steal the original house key, & take it to Home Depot, or anyplace that has a key machine, copy it, & return the original key. With the radio, you simply go on the computer to a key generating site, & generate a key without stealing anything.
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2018, 8:22 AM
JMR3865's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 531
Default

Thanks everyone!
__________________
JMR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2018, 10:43 AM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 6,778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N4KVE View Post
With the radio, you simply go on the computer to a key generating site, & generate a key without stealing anything.
Except that in some areas generating a key is either illegal and/or frowned upon by those responsible for maintaining said radio system. That is kind of the whole purpose of System Keys: to keep those that should not have access to the system from the system. Granted, Motorola has giant flaws in how this is implemented but that still does not make generating a system key without the system administrators permission ok.

Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2018, 10:56 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KE4ZNR View Post
but that still does not make generating a system key without the system administrators permission OK
In life, there are many choices, & many shades of gray. In my life, there is only 1 question I ask whenever I do something. "Will I go to jail if I do this"? If the answer is yes, then I don't do it. It's not like going to a key generating site will have the same consequences as going to a kiddy porn site.
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2018, 10:35 PM
kingpin's Avatar
Trailer Park Supervisor
   
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fairhope, AL
Posts: 1,223
Cool Bricked

And I don't mind telling you as a system administrator, I will brick your radio if it doesn't belong on my system . Been there, done that. Someone has some expensive paperweights.

Stay off of systems where you don't belong, and you won't have trouble.
__________________
Jason - W4IRQ
AL Database Admin - Radioreference.com
www.radiokingpin.com
Group Owner - South Alabama Scan
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/southalabamascan/
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2018, 12:19 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingpin View Post
And I don't mind telling you as a system administrator, I will brick your radio if it doesn't belong on my system . Been there, done that. Someone has some expensive paperweights.

Stay off of systems where you don't belong, and you won't have trouble.
Depot Software will fix this problem
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2018, 6:03 AM
JMR3865's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 531
Default

Just to clarify...

I am a FF/EMT. I have permission to use our VHF system. I MAY have the ability to use our trunked system that is coming our way. I am NOT looking to transmit on anything that I shouldn't be. I just want to listen to the trunked system with a radio, not a scanner.
__________________
JMR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2018, 7:07 AM
davidzimmerman's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: parma,ohio
Posts: 1,692
Default

sure don't think the system administrator can care less what and who you are lol have someone who KNOWS how to program the radio or have the police at your front door.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2018, 9:12 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York North Carolina and all points in between
Posts: 2,314
Default

I think the best response is "If you don't know how to make your radio do NAS, then don't do it". There are plenty of sites out there for information, and this one doesn't like said information posted here. At most of the others they will not program your radio or hand hold you, so do some research, and learn.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2018, 9:27 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMR3865 View Post
Just to clarify...

I am a FF/EMT. I have permission to use our VHF system. I MAY have the ability to use our trunked system that is coming our way. I am NOT looking to transmit on anything that I shouldn't be. I just want to listen to the trunked system with a radio, not a scanner.
Then have the person who gave you permission program your radio.
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2018, 2:54 PM
kingpin's Avatar
Trailer Park Supervisor
   
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fairhope, AL
Posts: 1,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allend View Post
Depot Software will fix this problem
True, but you shouldn't have it unless you are authorized.

Forcing a radio onto a public safety trunked system you are not authorized for, is asking for trouble. It is a felony in the state of Alabama for example. It's not worth it.
__________________
Jason - W4IRQ
AL Database Admin - Radioreference.com
www.radiokingpin.com
Group Owner - South Alabama Scan
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/southalabamascan/
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2018, 3:14 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingpin View Post
True, but you shouldn't have it unless you are authorized.
But how did it ever get out of the factory in the first place? I've seen it for sale on E-Bay from time to time. Moto only has themselves to blame that it's out there.
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2018, 3:45 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 55
Default

Sent you a PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions