RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2007, 3:56 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Exclamation Motorola XTS 5000

Would the Motorola XTS 5000 work as a Triple Trunking Radio Scanner?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2007, 4:53 PM
mam1081's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Next to a scanner...
Posts: 1,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FullArrest
Would the Motorola XTS 5000 work as a Triple Trunking Radio Scanner?
Negative - maybe dual-trunking with the right flash - not for the casual scanner listener though. These only trunk Motorola Type II, Smartzone, or P25 trunked systems (that I have seen). Triple trunking included EDACS last I checked.

These radios are also only good for one band (VHF OR UHF OR 800) - not all like a scanner.

You also need expensive software to program them correctly.

You would need permission from the TRS owners to program this radio for their system too.


Just don't do it.
__________________
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2007, 6:10 PM
OpSec's Avatar
Analog is dead
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FullArrest
Would the Motorola XTS 5000 work as a Triple Trunking Radio Scanner?
No, it won't.

Buy a scanner.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2007, 7:53 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 852
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stateboy
No, it won't.

Buy a scanner.

Well, if you want 2nd rate crappy audio, *then* buy a scanner.

Yes, the XTS5000 can "act" as a scanner, however it won't triple trunk.
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2007, 8:27 PM
mancow's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: N.E. Kansas
Posts: 4,457
Default

That is, unless he wants to scan a P-25 system. If so, then it won't act as a scanner at all. It will affiliate and cause him a work of s***.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2007, 3:40 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,487
Default

Smartnet, SmartZone, P25. There's your triple trunking!

But no, all Motorola radios will at MOST operate on LTR and Motorola trunking formats,
EDACS isn't available on any Motorola product.

And that's a good thing, because edacs sucks. And I monitor it every day.

I do not consider that trunking format to be suitable for critical services.

Elroy
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2007, 10:05 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
EDACS isn't available on any Motorola product.
Not true.....



The USN had some 'special' astro sabers that were EDACS.. although they weren't 'real' astro sabers.. had to do with ericsson being a non-US company and type 1 CCI.

'supposedly' ...

Supposedly they were for use on aircraft carriers and such' low power HYDRA systems...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2007, 10:51 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 852
Default

I'll echo here on Mr. John Parks.

Motorola did infact produce an SP AstroSaber for the US Military that did do EDACS. Not many were seen, but it has been confirmed that they do exist.
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2007, 5:22 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,487
Default

But nobody has ever been able to step up to the plate and demonstrate the existence of such a beast. It's easier to get pics of what the USAF is cooking up in Area 51.

It's still a rumor until somoene PROVES it exists.

Elroy


Quote:
Originally Posted by jparks29
Not true.....



The USN had some 'special' astro sabers that were EDACS.. although they weren't 'real' astro sabers.. had to do with ericsson being a non-US company and type 1 CCI.

'supposedly' ...

Supposedly they were for use on aircraft carriers and such' low power HYDRA systems...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2007, 10:19 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default

the XTS5000 will affiliate itself with a trunked system.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2007, 1:42 PM
kc4wwu's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Camden County, Georgia
Posts: 155
Default Only if you TX!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogomip
the XTS5000 will affiliate itself with a trunked system.
If you want to "scan" a system, you can make it NOT affiliate! Even if its P25!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2007, 1:50 PM
mancow's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: N.E. Kansas
Posts: 4,457
Default

HOW?



Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2007, 1:52 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,487
Default

Though some people have asserted that an XTS5000 MUST affiliate with a trunked or P25 system before it will allow you to receive transmissions, this has yet to be proven by anyone that I know of.

And, using the hidden groups method, I GUARANTEE that an XTS5000 will be able to scan
a Type II system without affiliating.

If you're using the hidden groups method correctly, the radio will never be SET to a
trunked system. So it won't affiliate to one. I'm sure of that.

Elroy
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2007, 3:26 PM
WayneH's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sitting in an airport somewhere
Posts: 8,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElroyJetson
Though some people have asserted that an XTS5000 MUST affiliate with a trunked or P25 system before it will allow you to receive transmissions, this has yet to be proven by anyone that I know of.
No one has proved that you can passively monitor a P25 trunked system (9600) either. There's more word that you can't, which is what I believe.

If you can provide some good believeable facts I'd like to read them.
__________________
-Wayne
PM's are permitted by contact list only. Please use direct email: wayne_h at radioreference dot com
Got an admin question? -> Forum Rules & Guidelines
Please follow the forum rules and contact a moderator directly, not via a thread.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2007, 3:44 PM
MOTOROLANUT's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Harrco WV
Posts: 753
Question Scan

Stupid question time....Minus the Affilation of the XTS 5000 series, How does the scan differ from say a Uniden 996 or Pro 96 scanner in Monitoring the P-25 9600 systems? How does a scanner which obviously does not affilate track conversations in talkgroups?
And or can a Xts 3000 monitor these 9600 systems when using the recieve only portion of the CPS so it does not affilate.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2007, 4:48 PM
kc4wwu's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Camden County, Georgia
Posts: 155
Talking XTS5000 does NOT have to affiliate to unmute

The XTS5000, will NOT affiliate if you program up the radio with the "Hidden Talkgroups" like Elroy has stated. You take zone one for example, and create 20 channels within that zone. Make the first 16 channels conventional, or receive only channels. Make channels 17 - 20 "P25 talkgroup channels" (This will give you four talkgroups you can scan. If you want to scan 10 talkgroups make channels 17 - 26 etc.)

After you created a P25 trunking personality, loaded the talkgroups in channels 17 - ??
Create a scanlist. In the scanlist, put in the channels/talkgroups you want to scan.
And there you have it.

I know some people may disagree, but mine is working great. No Affiliations at all. ID Display works like a charm also.

Just make sure, you DO NOT add the ability in the menu's to go to them channels. Once you put the radio on that channel, it WILL affiliate. By NOT adding the "CHAN" option in the menu, you don't have the risk of "accidentally" putting your radio on a channel the will affiliate, or having a friend play with it and do so.


Hope this helps someone!
73
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2007, 4:49 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,487
Default

I'm sure that the rules for an XTS3000 are the same as for an Astro Saber, which can "safely" monitor a trunked system via the hidden groups method.

But when it comes to the 2500 or 5000, I'm in unknown territory.


I came up with a new way to scan safely. The hidden groups is something I came up with years ago but here's the new, more
efficient way:

Set up ONLY conventional personalities with scan lists in your FIRST zone. Create as many as you need to support your scan lists,
even if it's over 16 channels.

NO trunked personalities go into the FIRST zone

You DO have a CHANNEL menu in the radio.

All the trunked personalities go into the ADDITIONAL zones, 2 thru whatever.

You do NOT allow a ZONE menu in the radio.

You can scan every zone from the channel knob and CHAN menu without ever having to access a second zone.

Simple, elegant, and saves a ton of personalities. (Astro Saber goes from 150-odd scannable groups to 230-odd
scannable groups.)



Elroy


Elroy

Last edited by ElroyJetson; 09-11-2007 at 5:09 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2007, 5:15 PM
kc4wwu's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Camden County, Georgia
Posts: 155
Default XTS3000 and Astro Saber

Another way to do it with these two radios is just use the "TX INHIBIT" option. These two radios will NOT affiliate if you use TX INHIBIT. Even safer!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2007, 5:28 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,487
Default

I ALWAYS recommend doing that. Set BOTH positions of the two position concentric switch to TX inhibit (in trunking mode) and just to be on the safe side, flip the switch back and forth so it updates in the radio's CPU, and it should stay shut up.

But I've seen some evidence that the radio may STILL auto-login or login on a PTT attempt if the radio is set to a trunked talkgroup. It seems to be dependent on the radio type as
well as the firmware revisions in the radio.

Better still to never le the radio get set to a trunked talkgroup. Using TX Inhibit is a very
sound additional precaution, though.


Elroy
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2007, 7:44 PM
LPD7's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 218
Default

Although it happens to be one Hell of a Radio, like already Stated you can only monitor a certain Band, but not All UHF, you can have it From 340-470 or 450-520, you cant have ALL the UHF Frequencies. it's also not JUST the Radio it self to buy, you have to purchase the whole thing, which is Made for a Siren, and the High Preformance Radio. If you live in an Area with VHF and UHF and Trunked Digital, get a Scanner, my Suggestion is the Pro-96. The XTL 5000 is MADE TO FIT THE USE OF PUBLIC SAFTEY. They even made a model that includes the option of haveing it Compatible for Police Motorcycles, it Comes Ready for Encrypted Comms, so it is definatly not what your looking for.
__________________
Matt

Last edited by LPD7; 09-11-2007 at 7:47 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions