new to scanning need help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

ts1640

I am new to scanning and just bought a home patrol scanner. I live in the northern part of Platte county about 2 miles from Madison county. I can pick up Platte county sheriff without any problem however I am yet to hear Madison County or any thing from the state patrol. Do I need to purchase the upgrade for this home patrol unit in order to hear the state patrol? I am a little disappointed in what I am receiving considering the price I paid for this scanner. Can someone please offer me some guidance

cellphone

Silent key.
Premium Subscriber
You didn't mention which scanner you are using. Platte Co is analog, so almost any scanner will work. NSP is on a P25 trunked system that requires a compatible scanner and programming is a little more tricky. It is much easier programming with software, and if you post your programming file, we can get a better idea on how you have it programmed.

For NSP, the Humphrey site of the State Radio System will probably be your strongest but is only active if an NSP officer is affiliated with that site. If you can receive the Norfolk site, you might hear more.

Redneck0410

For Madison county, you'll want the Sheriff South VHF channel, picking up the RACOM system from there is a losing battle.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

cellphone

Silent key.
Premium Subscriber
I am using the home patrol 1 scanner. How do I post my programing file?

With an HP-1, there is really no need unless you are doing some custom programming. The scanner has all the freqs you need from the database. No programming necessary, you just need to tell it where you are.

Install the software on a computer and do a database update. The scanner syncs it's programming from the Radio Reference DB and it changes all the time.

On the scanner:
Menu->Set Your Location->Enter Zip Code