RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Nebraska Radio Discussion Forum


Nebraska Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Nebraska.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 9:36 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 52
Default Welcome Back Offutt Air Force Base!

I was scanning the 400 MHz band and stumbled across 406.56250. I didn't know what it was at first and searching the FCC returned nothing. Turns out the old frequencies for Offutt Air Force Base are being reused. Still P25 but new System ID and Site Number. Also looks like the talkgroup IDs are different. Modulation is C4FM. Hopefully, encryption stays off but I have a feeling it won't.
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 9:38 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 52
Default

Also, some key ups in this screenshot. They are pretty active.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 9:49 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 52
Default

And as soon as I said that I'm hitting some encrypted talkgroups. TG:1030 for now. Must be selectable encryption instead of strapped. TG: 1037 is in the clear and some TG: 1030 transmissions are in the clear too.

Edit: Appears that there is now a lot of encryption. Not sure if there are just users not following protocol or if something else is happening. Of course, this system has new parameters from the old one so not sure what they set up. 1030 and very much on and off encryption.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 9:53 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 7,439
Default

It's site 1-100 on this system now.
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=7700
Did you submit it?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 9:56 AM
ecps92's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Taxachusetts
Posts: 9,786
Default

Federal License info is part of NTIA, not the FCC

there maybe some found in the FCC, but those are generally when a Local/County/State begins to use NTIA frequencies, not Federal agencies.

Hope this helps you from chasing your trail with that avenue

Quote:
Originally Posted by NebraskaCoder View Post
I was scanning the 400 MHz band and stumbled across 406.56250. I didn't know what it was at first and searching the FCC returned nothing. Turns out the old frequencies for Offutt Air Force Base are being reused. Still P25 but new System ID and Site Number. Also looks like the talkgroup IDs are different. Modulation is C4FM. Hopefully, encryption stays off but I have a feeling it won't.
__________________
Bill N1KUG
Cruise Ship Frequencies
http://www.scanmaritime.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 9:57 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nd5y View Post
It's site 1-100 on this system now.
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=7700
Did you submit it?
Submitting it as we speak.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 9:58 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecps92 View Post
Federal License info is part of NTIA, not the FCC

there maybe some found in the FCC, but those are generally when a Local/County/State begins to use NTIA frequencies, not Federal agencies.

Hope this helps you from chasing your trail with that avenue
Thank you!

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 10:16 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 7,439
Default

Look at the band plan tab in Unitrunker and see if there is more than one band plan.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 10:20 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nd5y View Post
Look at the band plan tab in Unitrunker and see if there is more than one band plan.
Looks like it does.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 10:21 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nd5y View Post
Look at the band plan tab in Unitrunker and see if there is more than one band plan.
I'm not sure what that means for scanning it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 10:23 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 7,439
Default

OK. I was just curious. Sheppard and Altus are the same way with multiple band plans for bands that aren't used.


Last time I was able to receive it Dyess was still a stand alone system. I suspect they will move to one of the wide area systems soon if they haven't already.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 10:27 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 52
Default

Interesting. Well, time to let it run for a bit and see what I find.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 10:28 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 7,439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NebraskaCoder View Post
I'm not sure what that means for scanning it.
The control channel broadcasts the band plan and LCN numbers for the channels. That's how your scanner and Unitrunker know what frequencies are used. If the system broadcasts more band plans than what are actually used for the LCNs then the extras are just ignored. I don't know why some systems are like that. Seems like Motorola does it and Harris doesn't.

If Unitrunker shows only 1 slot for each band plan then that indicates the site is Phase 1 only, or maybe configured that way at the present time.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by nd5y; 07-19-2018 at 10:46 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2018, 5:08 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SW Iowa
Posts: 280
Default

This would be a good weekend to see what the new system holds. Lots of rarely used TGs and radios being used with the airshow happening.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions