can't receive edacs on hp-1

Status
Not open for further replies.

AE7K

Just got my HP-1. I'm in zip 89502, followed the instructions, updated the firmware and database, currently have fw 1.02, db ver 09/28/2010.

When it starts scanning, it stops on Nevada>Sierra College (Nevada County Campus)>Sierra College Police Dispatch
Law Dispatch 860.9625 and plays a buzzing sound (attached).

I tell it to avoid this channel, but don't get any fire/police/etc.

I'm new to the scanner game and the best I can figure out is that FCC Callsign: WPIE754 is the entry giving me trouble. The lat/long are 38.79294,-121.21356 yet they show up as 39 24'08.08, 120 35'09.38 in the database and is listed as FM. This location is about 90 miles away on the other side of the Sierra Nevada mountains.

The Nevada Shared Radio System also uses this frequency on it's Red Peak repeater which is a EDACS system.

Is the error in the database causing my problem?

Thanks,

John

Attachments

• 2010-09-30_14-17-40.zip
    75.1 KB · Views: 56

bezking

The sound is an EDACS Control Channel. You are hearing the Control Channel for the Trunked System instead of what it is programmed as.
I am moving this post to the Nevada forum so someone local to that area can chime in on why the DB is that way, I am on the other side of the US so I can't really say much more than that.

Welcome to RR, by the way :)

AE7K

thanks, might it be a California problem also? again, please pardon my noobishness....

Z0_RICK

Make sure you have the correct freqs. I do not know if the database you are using reflects the rebanded sets.

SCPD

QRT
Make sure you have the correct freqs. I do not know if the database you are using reflects the rebanded sets.