Nevada Scanner Laws

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackVO

I will be vacationing in NV and would like to know if it is legal to operate a scanner in a vehicle? Thanks

TOUGHLIFE

As far as I know there is no State law forbidding the possession or use of a scanner in a motor vehicle inside Nevada. Just use good judgement when monitoring in a mobile or walking environment when around people. Don't call undue attention to yourself.

als365

This is by no means the official word, but when I used to live in Florida, the law was that you could have a scanner in your vehicle if you were a licensed HAM radio operator, emergency worker, or you had a special letter authorizing you to have one in your vehicle. It may be the same here. I don’t really pay attention since I’m a VFF and EMT and have enough scanners to qualify as a police department emergency dispatch center. Please remember that no matter what your “title” is, it is illegal to use a police scanner to aid you in committing a crime (not to mention the crime is illegal too).

joen7xxx

NV Laws

There was a move afoot during the last legislature to tighten up frequency lists etc. making them classified documents by Mr. Perkins of Las Vegas, but cooler and smarter heads prevailed. There is nothing in the NRS or NAC that regulates scanner possession or use in a vehicle at this time. Just don't do something stupid, like hang out near a stakeout etc.

Enjoy your time in Nevada!

Pro-95

Nevada does have a "catch-all" law on the books that basically says if you, while in the act of operating a motor vehicle, are distracted from your safe operation of a motor vehicle or if your actions other than operating a motor vehicle impairs your ability to operate the motor vehicle, you can be cited.