RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Nevada Radio Discussion Forum

Nevada Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Nevada.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2018, 12:02 AM

Default Scanner Laws BLM land??

So I will be traveling to Nevada and spending some time on BLM land. I checked Nevada law which seems to indicate it will not be a problem, But I did not even consider the Federal aspect considering that I will be on BLM land. I could not find anything on the BLM site. Does anyone know if I will have any trouble carrying a scanner on BLM land? A link to the law allowing for it would be nice. I always like to print that kind of thing out and bring it with me. I will also be traveling with Amateur Radio Gear as I am an Amateur Radio Operator. I really don't think it will be a problem but I want to be sure?
Sponsored links
Old 04-09-2018, 12:27 AM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Laws generally tell you what you can't do, rather than telling you what you can do.
So if you can't find anything about scanning. Then it is legal.
Old 04-09-2018, 12:42 AM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber

Just don't transmit with your Baofeng on the BLM repeaters and no one will bother you. There are no radio restrictions in Nevada.
Old 04-09-2018, 1:06 AM

Never had an issue with BLM.

It's rare you'll run into a BLM ranger, they are usually stretched pretty thin, especially in Nevada where they have some huge areas to cover. I think in 30 years of messing around on California, Arizona, Nevada, Utah and New Mexico BLM areas, I've only talked to a BLM ranger twice, and it was the same guy both times.