RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > New Jersey Radio Discussion Forum

New Jersey Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of New Jersey.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2013, 7:50 PM
camco911's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood, New Jersey
Posts: 107
Default Stone Harbor Fire PL

Ok, it's listed for Stone Harbor FD Fire operations as 154.385 with a PL of 118.8. I was in front of their station today for a MVA with injuries and the fire was dispatched with the ambulance. They were talking on there FD channel and it was not coming through because I had the PL on. Did they change the PL?

Thanks for the help!
__________________
Rich Moulder,
BNN NJ 127, Reporter/Photographer
Staff Photographer Philly Fire News & New Jersey Fireground
GRE PSR 500, PSR 600 (x3), PSR 800 (x2) http://facebook.com/​rich.moulder
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2013, 8:20 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,230
Default

Were you trying to monitor with a scanner? If yes, why didn't you put the scanner in PL search mode to find out for yourself if it changed? If you were using a radio, did you press the monitor button or put the radio in carrier squelch mode to see if there was activity on the frequency?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2013, 8:47 PM
camco911's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood, New Jersey
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chauffeur6 View Post
Were you trying to monitor with a scanner? If yes, why didn't you put the scanner in PL search mode to find out for yourself if it changed? If you were using a radio, did you press the monitor button or put the radio in carrier squelch mode to see if there was activity on the frequency?
Yes I did, but I think they were done and signed off the air before I could catch it that way. I'm not usually in that area but happened to be at the beach with my daughter today. We will be there again in the very near future.
__________________
Rich Moulder,
BNN NJ 127, Reporter/Photographer
Staff Photographer Philly Fire News & New Jersey Fireground
GRE PSR 500, PSR 600 (x3), PSR 800 (x2) http://facebook.com/​rich.moulder
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2013, 2:01 AM
Devilz311's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 343
Default

Stone Harbor FD is using MotoTRBO full-time. They're using the 155.145 frequency listed in the database.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2013, 4:44 AM
PM08203's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somers Point NJ
Posts: 234
Default

Stone Harbor & Avalon used to be dispatched together. Did Avalon switch to MotoTRBO also?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2013, 3:02 PM
camco911's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood, New Jersey
Posts: 107
Default

Sorry, what is MotoTRBO?
__________________
Rich Moulder,
BNN NJ 127, Reporter/Photographer
Staff Photographer Philly Fire News & New Jersey Fireground
GRE PSR 500, PSR 600 (x3), PSR 800 (x2) http://facebook.com/​rich.moulder
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2013, 3:03 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camco911 View Post
Sorry, what is MotoTRBO?
See this link: MOTOTRBO - The RadioReference Wiki
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2013, 3:06 PM
camco911's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood, New Jersey
Posts: 107
Default

Ok, so they can not be monitored? Or can you listen to them on 155.145?
__________________
Rich Moulder,
BNN NJ 127, Reporter/Photographer
Staff Photographer Philly Fire News & New Jersey Fireground
GRE PSR 500, PSR 600 (x3), PSR 800 (x2) http://facebook.com/​rich.moulder

Last edited by camco911; 08-21-2013 at 3:09 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2013, 7:30 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 502
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by camco911 View Post
Ok, so they can not be monitored? Or can you listen to them on 155.145?
If they are using TURBO they can not be monitored with any current scanner.
If you were to listen to the frequency 155.145 open with out PL/DP you might hear the unintelligible digital noise and sounds.

However. if you do want to monitor them via this digital mode you can still do it. So if your technically astute to radio electronics please see this link: DSD
However, if they are using encryption with TURBO...forget about it!
__________________

Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2013, 7:46 PM
camco911's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood, New Jersey
Posts: 107
Default

Why would a Fire department go to something you couldn't hear. Mutual aid companies would have to change over to what they have. I can understand PD doing that or even EMS, but fire?
__________________
Rich Moulder,
BNN NJ 127, Reporter/Photographer
Staff Photographer Philly Fire News & New Jersey Fireground
GRE PSR 500, PSR 600 (x3), PSR 800 (x2) http://facebook.com/​rich.moulder
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2013, 9:43 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camco911 View Post
Why would a Fire department go to something you couldn't hear. Mutual aid companies would have to change over to what they have. I can understand PD doing that or even EMS, but fire?
The reasons why's are theoretically numerous. There are numerous subject threads in the forums that cover the whys. While TURBO has it's good points, most likely it was a good salesman who put on a good show to convince the FD to use this mode for their day to operations. It's quite possible the salesman used as part of his presentation that Turbo is "private and unmonitorable"....Well that's their choice. However, they do have frequencies they can switch to on county level that incoming mutual aid companies can use to communicate with them.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2013, 7:06 AM
Devilz311's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 343
Default

Avalon is still using their old channel.

Stone Harbor isn't using encryption on the MotoTRBO channel. If you really wanted to listen to them you could with the dsd software, or just find a cheap Trio radio and find the right color code. But the radio + CPS + cable would be expensive for monitoring one fire department in a shore town...

As to the why, maybe they got to talking with AtlantiCare... Although it's been almost three years and they still haven't been able to iron out the kinks in their MotoTRBO system...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2013, 2:26 PM
PM08203's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somers Point NJ
Posts: 234
Default

this morning I heard two separate fire dispatchs on 154.385. the first was 59th st Avalon. the second sounded like 99th st Stone Harbor, not 100% sure. in any event that got me wondering if stone harbor is simul the initial dispatch on vhf which is a common practice in atlantic county until the patch is dropped. anyone with intel?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2013, 4:12 PM
wildbillx's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cape May, NJ
Posts: 416
Default

Stone Harbor uses 154.385 with 118.8. Avalon uses the same thing. Stone Harbor does have the mototrbo which they use as ch 2 or tac channel. Most of the small stuff is on 154.385.
__________________
BNN#13
Erma FD
Cape May City FD
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2013, 6:54 PM
Devilz311's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildbillx View Post
Stone Harbor uses 154.385 with 118.8. Avalon uses the same thing. Stone Harbor does have the mototrbo which they use as ch 2 or tac channel. Most of the small stuff is on 154.385.
Maybe the EMS response is different than Fire then. All of the FD EMS operations are on the TRBO channel, including the dispatch.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2013, 1:53 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devilz311 View Post
Maybe the EMS response is different than Fire then. All of the FD EMS operations are on the TRBO channel, including the dispatch.
Wrong. Avalon Fire dispatches and operates on the repeater channel (154.385). Stone Harbor Fire and EMS is dispatched on Cape May County fire one (154.130) which is why you aren't hearing it on there. They recently switched to the digital. Yes it is annoying because nobody else in the area has the turbo (including myself) and can't listen to the channel. I heard they are going to be switching back though, although I don't know how reliable that information is.

A reason as to why they did it? They have money and like to spend it.

Last edited by Theroofable; 09-04-2013 at 1:55 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2013, 6:01 PM
PM08203's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somers Point NJ
Posts: 234
Default

I know there was a lot of 'jazz' from city fire departments that resisted the switch to 800. Just wondering what the fd feedback is on moto.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 09-05-2013, 1:14 AM
Devilz311's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theroofable View Post
Wrong. Avalon Fire dispatches and operates on the repeater channel (154.385). Stone Harbor Fire and EMS is dispatched on Cape May County fire one (154.130) which is why you aren't hearing it on there. They recently switched to the digital. Yes it is annoying because nobody else in the area has the turbo (including myself) and can't listen to the channel. I heard they are going to be switching back though, although I don't know how reliable that information is.

A reason as to why they did it? They have money and like to spend it.
Well, not entirely. They simulcast the dispatch over their TRBO channel too. My radio always catches that channel before Fire 1, that's why I've never heard it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions