RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > New Mexico Radio Discussion Forum

New Mexico Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of New Mexico

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 12:07 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 91
Question LCPD 4?

I've been listening to the Las Cruces PD lately and noticed they've been referring to a channel 4.. I have my Uniden set to ID Search so it picks up anything that hasn't been programmed. Nothing picks up on this supposed new talkgroup. Any thoughts?

Last edited by praxidike; 02-14-2013 at 12:20 AM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 7:39 AM
abqscan's Avatar
DataBase Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AOA
Posts: 2,427
Default

Have you tried to use Unitrunker with your Uniden radio to map out the system? If ch-4 is Provoice, the scanner won't stop on it, but you would be able to see the TG being active.
__________________
-Erik
I love my SBS-1eR & Mode-S Beast!
MNN-088
Rules and guidelines for forum post content
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 11:44 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 91
Cool hmm

Haven't tried Unitrunker no.. But ProVoice? It seems unlikely but I hope they haven't started to implement that. Lol. I'll see if I can get Unitrunker set up to see what I can find out. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 11:53 AM
abqscan's Avatar
DataBase Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AOA
Posts: 2,427
Default

I love Unitrunker! You can visually see whats going on with the system as the same time you hear the audio (as long as you have two scanners). You can also tag all the TG's and LID's from the radios. It also helps you find new Talkgroups too! It is a great tool!
__________________
-Erik
I love my SBS-1eR & Mode-S Beast!
MNN-088
Rules and guidelines for forum post content
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 1:27 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 91
Default

Good deal. I'll have to give it a whirl.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2013, 5:35 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 361
Default

Last I thought there channel 4 was secure capable if needed. Not sure if its digital now but it use to be capable of user encryption for sensitive comms to knock out scanners. Not sure if it was pro voice with encryption.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2013, 10:31 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 91
Default

If it were ProVoice wouldn't it still show up on the scanner but not emit any audio? Hmm.. strange..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2013, 10:34 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 361
Default

Is it possible they were using portables instead of mobiles on the system in a direct fashion rather then repeaters or patched over for some reason to a diff talk group?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2013, 8:15 AM
abqscan's Avatar
DataBase Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AOA
Posts: 2,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by praxidike View Post
If it were ProVoice wouldn't it still show up on the scanner but not emit any audio? Hmm.. strange..

No, it will not come across the scanner. The scanner detects that it is Provoice, and will ignore the TG. If you use Unitrunker, you can see the system, and then see what TG they move to when they switch.
__________________
-Erik
I love my SBS-1eR & Mode-S Beast!
MNN-088
Rules and guidelines for forum post content
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2013, 9:40 AM
Go-West's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dona Ana county, NM
Posts: 88
Default

Over the last year or two, when one of the officers says go to channel 4, I use the wildcard option on my GRE-500. It doesn't find it at all.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2013, 12:54 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 91
Default

Ah okay.. good to know! Thanks. I haven't been around my shack much because I've been gone and about to leave again. Maybe someday it will all sort out.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2013, 11:37 AM
Go-West's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dona Ana county, NM
Posts: 88
Default

They were using channel 4 today regarding a stabbing today off E. Lohman close to I-25. The victim has been placed on a chopper to receive more and better care.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-19-2013, 5:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Default

I just heard some reference to "go to 4" as well. Would love to pinpoint this talkgroup ID
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2013, 8:36 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 91
Default

Woo. I'm slackin on gettin on the computer these days. @Go-West do you know what the talkgroup ID is for this channel 4? I haven't heard it as of late.. the only time I hear of it is late afternoon into the early morning.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2013, 10:43 AM
Go-West's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dona Ana county, NM
Posts: 88
Default

I haven't ever found any activity with channel 4. It may be a stretch on my part, but maybe they are using a frequency from the past, maybe in the VHF or UHF band. Its just a guess on my part.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2013, 1:41 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 91
Default Re: LCPD 4?

I've noticed on some of the new cars that they are using a big nmo antenna. I'm not sure if they're using that to patch with DASO? Last night i heard a DASO deputy on lcpd 3 during the events at Sears

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions