Thinking of getting a Provoice radio

Status
Not open for further replies.

joebu

Hi Everyone,

When i was a boy, my dad had a scanner and we would listen to police and fire on it. I really enjoyed it. It was great being able to listen to what was going on around the city, especially if something was happening in our neighborhhod. I was wanting to be able to do the same now, but after research I see that there is no scanner that can monitor what I'm now wanting to listen to (APD and AFD). So after reading some more, I understand that although no scanner can provide what I want, i am able to get a radio that can. I'm hoping you could help me with the following.

1) What radio would I need to get, and what are some prices I should expect to pay?
2) How difficult would it be to program the radio
3) What other advice could you provide on going to provoice?

Thanks

lep

I am no expert as thankfully no one in my immediate area is using it. But, from the reading I have done, what you want is NOT possible as the radio must affiliate. That is, I am doubtful passive monitoring is an option. But, your mileage may vary.

lep is correct. If you had a Provoice, it would be a useless multi-thousand dollar brick in your hand. The radio is a computer that has to be in contact with the control computer, and it can't do that if the control computer hasn't invited it to the party. One of the upsides for law enforcement, is that a stolen or missing radio can be removed from the system, preventing eavesdropping.

kayn1n32008

ØÆSØ
lep is correct. If you had a Provoice, it would be a useless multi-thousand dollar brick in your hand. The radio is a computer that has to be in contact with the control computer, and it can't do that if the control computer hasn't invited it to the party. One of the upsides for law enforcement, is that a stolen or missing radio can be removed from the system, preventing eavesdropping.