Frequencies & pl tones

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike6508

This may sound like a stupid question to you veteran scanner hobbieists. However i am new to the scanning hobby.my question is, i am using freescan software to program my bc 346xt.the software optimizer is saying that i have duplicate frequencies programed.however these duplicate frequencies have different pl tones.can someone what this means and what i should do. Thanks so much.

Bc 346xt
pro 97
pro 96

mike6508

Frequencies

I am new to the scanning hobby, so please bare with me.my question is, how can i tell which frequencies are trunked and which frequencies are not.

tekshogun

This may sound like a stupid question to you veteran scanner hobbieists. However i am new to the scanning hobby.my question is, i am using freescan software to program my bc 346xt.the software optimizer is saying that i have duplicate frequencies programed.however these duplicate frequencies have different pl tones.can someone what this means and what i should do. Thanks so much.

Bc 346xt
pro 97
pro 96

I would certainly think that even if the PL tones are different, the same frequency is the same frequency. Have you tried putting it in another bank?

Astrak

I would program them both, here in AZ highway patrol reuses many of the same frequencies just with different PL tones for different districts. I guess it's to save a little money on the frequencies that have to be licensed.

nanZor

.however these duplicate frequencies have different pl tones.can someone what this means and what i should do.

The best way to describe PL (aka "private line") is that a very low frequency audio tone is sent along with the transmission, and when you have that specific PL tone enabled on the channel you want to monitor, only transmissions with that tone will unsquelch the radio.