RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > New User / Getting Started Forum

New User / Getting Started Forum The place for new users to discuss how to get started, and generally feel safe from the rest of the rabid technical community. If you just got your first scanner, this forum is for you.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2010, 2:43 PM
jp2code's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Antenna Rotor Power

Hi. Newbie here.

I took an antenna down from a neighbor's house this past weekend that had not been used in 10 years.

It had a rotor on it, and I'd like to test it out to see if it works. The controller for the rotor is no longer a part of the home, so all I have is the exterior motor.

What kind of power do these take? 110V AC? 12V DC? How would I identify a manufacturer? I can't see any markings on it, and from what I've found online most new ones don't either.

I appreciate your time,
~Joe
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2010, 10:38 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 4,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp2code View Post
Hi. Newbie here.

I took an antenna down from a neighbor's house this past weekend that had not been used in 10 years.

It had a rotor on it, and I'd like to test it out to see if it works. The controller for the rotor is no longer a part of the home, so all I have is the exterior motor.

What kind of power do these take? 110V AC? 12V DC? How would I identify a manufacturer? I can't see any markings on it, and from what I've found online most new ones don't either.

I appreciate your time,
~Joe
Maybe if you post a picture if it and see if anyone here can identify it.

A lot of TV rotators operate on around 24VAC, and frequently require a starting capacitor, so you can't just hook a power source up to it and expect it to run.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2010, 7:49 AM
jp2code's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I don't really want to keep it. My dad is trying to give me an old controller that he has, but I'd rather not have the hassle of turning an antenna to pick up a signal.

I just want to verify that it works before I put it on eBay or Craig's List.

I'll see about getting a picture for the members to look at, though. Stay tuned!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2010, 8:41 AM
jp2code's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Images of the rotor assembly are attached.

Numbers on the unit shown in P1010107.JPG are 12898 (bottom), Y1-8 (middle), 98 (middle-right, I guess that's the year), 13208 on the neck as shown in P1010109.JPG.

Could someone help me identify this item? I want to try applying power to see if it works, but I don't know what voltages to use or what wires are positive, negative, and ground (DC) or common, neutral, and ground (AC).
Attached Images
     
__________________
~Joe
Avoid Sears Home Improvement!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2010, 9:19 AM
wb0wao's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cape Girardeau, MO
Posts: 218
Default

That appears to be the standard Radio Shack light duty rotor that they sold for years. I have had a couple of them and they are useable but have a tendancy to "drift" a bit, so you have to re-sync them periodically. IIRC, they use a three wire control cable.

Dennis
__________________
PRO-107/PRO-528/PRO-137/PSR-410
VX-150/Wouxun KG-UV2D/Moto GM350/Moto Saber I, Ie, II/Moto HT1000
Kenwood TM271A/Moto GM300 2m & 70cm/Moto VHF Spectra
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2010, 9:28 AM
jp2code's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Figures. Probably not worth trying to sell then.

Any idea on what kind of power it takes? 110V AC? 24V DC?
__________________
~Joe
Avoid Sears Home Improvement!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2010, 10:07 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 1,335
Default Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp2code View Post
Figures. Probably not worth trying to sell then.

Any idea on what kind of power it takes? 110V AC? 24V DC?
I believe they use 24 V AC, not DC. Almost all antenna rotors use low voltage AC for safety reasons.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions