RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > New User / Getting Started Forum

New User / Getting Started Forum The place for new users to discuss how to get started, and generally feel safe from the rest of the rabid technical community. If you just got your first scanner, this forum is for you.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2011, 1:58 PM

Question Decisions...Decisions?!?!

Trying to decide between the Uniden Home Patrol 1 & the GRE PSR-800.
I have some scanner knowledge. I have a RS-Pro 24, 51, 97, 106, & 107. AOR AR-2700,
Uniden BC100-XLT. Quite an oddball selection that I've accumulated over the years of scanne listening.
I like the size of the GRE PSR-800 and it's somewhat ease of use + the colored LED's i can use to designate to different agency's. But I like the super ease of the Uniden HP-1.the only things that I find i don't like about the HP-1 is it's size. and the SMC antenna. I have an extensive collection of BNC antennas!! Decisions...decisions... I can also get either one for the same price. @ $450
Sponsored links
Old 04-09-2011, 2:06 PM

Why not the BCD396XT? I have a buddy that has one - it is a great scanner and you can get it about the same price. Haven't seen many good posts about the HP1.
Old 04-09-2011, 3:39 PM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmccluskey View Post
Why not the BCD396XT? I have a buddy that has one - it is a great scanner and you can get it about the same price. Haven't seen many good posts about the HP1.