RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > New User / Getting Started Forum

New User / Getting Started Forum The place for new users to discuss how to get started, and generally feel safe from the rest of the rabid technical community. If you just got your first scanner, this forum is for you.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2011, 12:49 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nevada
Posts: 4
Default How to monitor multiple frequencies on a computer

I need to monitor about three or four scanner frequencies for public safety in neighboring counties that can't be received by a police scanner where I live.
If I log into RadioReference.com I can easily monitor one at a time. Is it possible to set something up so I can scan several frequencies? Or do I just try to open several windows on my computer at once and let the frequencies all run at once?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2011, 1:30 PM
Rsmims's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Utah
Posts: 32
Default

Just open the windows that you want to listen to and let then run all at once. I monitor about 4 at the same time this way and it doesn't cause a problem for me. The windows are self identified and have a visual audio meter of sorts so you can see which one is "talking". After a while, you get to know what agency is transmitting by the audio ques they put out, and don't even have to look anymore.

Or you could buy multiple computers and run a window in each......or not.
__________________
It's all Mind over Matter....If you don't Mind....It don't Matter.

10-BC350A, 4-BCT8, 4-BC560XLT, 3-Pro77A, 2-Pro7A, 2-Pro48
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2011, 1:40 PM
OCO's Avatar
OCO OCO is offline
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central Michigan
Posts: 922
Default

As noted, you can open multiple tabs and run a feed in each one.. All audio will be on at the same time, which can get messy when things are busy. A good solution is an application like ScannerLive, which has a lot of really good features..
__________________
"An opinion should be the result of thought, not a substitute for it." - Jef Mallett
. Heathkit CR-1
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2011, 2:09 PM
krokus's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,818
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.973 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

I am curious, why can't the neighboring counties be monitored by scanners? Are they using a mode that no scanner supports, but can be decoded on a computer? Geographically unable to pick up their towers?

I just wonder, because if you do "need" to monitor them, then I would suggest being self sufficient, in that ability.
__________________
Generic radio geek, in southeast Michigan.
PSR-500, TM-742, TM-V71,TH-78, HTX-420, IC-2AT, IC-2E (clone), Pro-39, BC-235XLT, TK-290, XTS-5000
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2011, 2:12 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nevada
Posts: 4
Default

Ah, thanks, Old. ScannerLive will do the trick. I take it it is reliable?
Krokus: Distance and at least one mountain range block them. One of the counties used to use a translator that also allowed me to pick up their signal, but when they upgraded their system they were able to cover everything without using that site and I lost the signal.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2011, 2:38 PM
OCO's Avatar
OCO OCO is offline
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central Michigan
Posts: 922
Default

Steve: Demo version runs for 1/2 hour and won't let you save.. Loads and runs fine. Uses PayPal to register, he then generates a key and sends to you..

Krokus: Us flatlanders forget about them thar mountains.. I wondered the same thing..

BTW- I now realize I should have thought longer about a user name (and Lindsay probably wouldn't think my reason for changing was good enough)
__________________
"An opinion should be the result of thought, not a substitute for it." - Jef Mallett
. Heathkit CR-1

Last edited by old_CJDC_ops; 08-25-2011 at 2:41 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2011, 5:22 PM
krokus's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,818
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.973 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

I have dealt with mountains. I have lived in the Seattle area, and on Oahu.
__________________
Generic radio geek, in southeast Michigan.
PSR-500, TM-742, TM-V71,TH-78, HTX-420, IC-2AT, IC-2E (clone), Pro-39, BC-235XLT, TK-290, XTS-5000
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions