What is the Best Police Scanner Currently Available

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to the world of scanners and am seeking to learn with the best scanner available that can monitor all Southern California Police Frequencies. Also have the ability to be upgraded to monitor other city and state frequencies.
I will be using this to oversee police activity and to record and report police officer misconduct. All suggestions would be appreciated. Thank You!
Note:
I want one that has alpha tags, trunking, P25, digital, and anything else that will make it be the best fully functional police scanner possible.

SCPD

QRT
You could save some money and just go to your local courthouse and sit in on some of the cases. You will hear more there than on a scanner.

gr8rcall

Premium Subscriber
Welcome to RR!!!

The real "Best in business" would probably be the GRE PSR-500/600, Pro-106/197 (essencially PSR-500/600s, but with RS's logo), and BCD396XT/996XT. These have everything you'll need. They have some differences. They all have the features that you want. P25, searching, alpha tags, all the features that are available (almost). The Pro-106/197 also have SOME preprogrammed data. They also each have their bugs.

Beware! The "Best Scanner" will probably be one of the six listed above, but picking one is picking windows/mac, chevy/ford, ect..if you ask six people, you'll likely get six different answers.

It all boils down to your personal preference. This is where some research comes in. You'll be able to find a wealth of info in the forums, and on the wiki.

I like the Pro-106.

Sincerely,
gr8rcall

P.S. I don't agree with cronst10, I think you'll enjoy a scanner greatly. I would sooner listen to my 106 then go to court. LOL.

Last edited:

ff-medic

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
The Appalachians - Next to the tent and campfire.