RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > New User / Getting Started Forum

New User / Getting Started Forum The place for new users to discuss how to get started, and generally feel safe from the rest of the rabid technical community. If you just got your first scanner, this forum is for you.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2013, 9:23 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default Mac version of Freescan?

I have been looking around and cannot find any software for the Mac that allows you to program a scanner with a Mac. I just got a BC125AT and would love to use my Macbook Pro. Anyone have any suggestions? I do have access to a PC but it is for work and they frown on adding non-work software to it.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2013, 10:20 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Map Page AA-18
Posts: 288
Default

May I suggest another approach?

Since the MacBook is intel-based, the chip runs Windows OS just fine. What you can do is configure your MacBook to Dual Boot. This is a tried and true method of having multiple OS on one device, you only have to boot into one, then when done boot back into the other. Perfect for seldom-used operations such as programming a scanner. I would suggest using Windows XP 32-bit; Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8 are overkill for what you need to do.

How to Make Macbook Dual Boot With Windows | eHow.com

My son , my nephews and my dad all use MacBooks and wouldn't do without them, my son dual boots into Windows for work and it is an approved use for his work MacBook.

Last edited by lazierfan; 02-24-2013 at 10:23 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2013, 10:22 AM
popnokick's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 738
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 6_1_2 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/536.26 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0 Mobile/10B146 Safari/8536.25)

Run Windows on your Mac using Apple BootCamp, Parallels, or other VM. You may never see a Mac version of software for any scanner.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2013, 10:26 AM
mrkelso's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NNJ
Posts: 927
Default

I run Parallels, Love it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2013, 3:52 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the advice. I knew about thew dual boot capabilities but don't want to get into that. Sounds crazy, but I'm kind of a purist when it comes to my machines. I do not want to put windows on my Mac. I may end up just looking for a cheap netbook to use if using windows is my only option...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2013, 3:56 PM
Wiki Admin Emeritus
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowie, Md.
Posts: 17,418
Default

One other point here - FreeScan won't work with the 125AT. That software is designed for the Uniden DMA scanners, of which the 125 isn't one of them

Mike
__________________
links editor, Utility Monitoring Central
HF Forum moderator, RadioReference
Friends don't let friends buy Scancat Lite Plus!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2013, 4:39 PM
popnokick's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 738
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 6_1_2 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/536.26 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0 Mobile/10B146 Safari/8536.25)

And the software for the BC125AT is free download from Uniden.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2014, 10:39 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 306
Default

Is it possible to install Windows on a USB thumb drive simply to modify Freescan files for actual programming on a PC when available? I just want to boot Windows for Freescan on my Macbook, which I have more free time with than my PC.

Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions