CB radio range only 50 feet with home made whip antennas... help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Serpentina

Hello, I am new to CB radios. I have always wanted radios from when I was a kid, and would go to radio shack with my daddy, and look at them, but they were over 100 dollars and I could never afford them.

Recently I came upon 2 used and quite comparable 40 ch CB radios. The Uniden PRO 501XL, and the Radio Shack TRC-502, used $30 for the pair. My best friend and I are planning to use them for when I go out for bike rides. I have set up the Uniden as the home base station, as it is missing its clips and microphone hanger so I couldn't attach it to my bike. The Radio Shack radio I made a super awesome custom paper battery tube (works better than I expected) to power the radio. I plan to use channel 6 mostly for my communication with him.

The problem came to not having any antennas and not having the money to spend yet another 30 dollars for a pair of antennas, that would push me over my limit on this project. I did quite a bit of research when I got the radios to figure out how to make antennas, but there was nothing about making short and relitivly portable antennas that I could find, not being an expert.

Last night I had a dream that showed me how to make an antenne for the radio, I believe its called a whip antenna. Basically I took the 106.5 inches the mast style antenna is in length and I divided it by 4. I took two coat hangers and straightened them out as best as I could. They are pretty straight but not any where close to perfect, I didn't think they had to be perfect. And cut them both down to 27 inches, that is from where I bent it to stick into the connector to the tip.