Using radio to generate numbers...

Status
Not open for further replies.

kropcke

Hi Everyone.

I'm very happy to have found this incredible resource, The RadioReference, and its forums here.
As indicated by where I'm posting, I am most certainly a newcomer to radio.

By trade, I am an interactive software developer (or, I make video games). What brings me here is an idea I had to generate numbers using radio, and employ that data within a larger program.

In my toddler-like ability to speak radio fluently, I would like to do something like this:

1. Plug my radio into my Macintosh
2. Tune my radio into a particular frequency
3. Output the amplitude every 'x' seconds to a data file (ascii, spreadsheet, etc).

In pseudo-code, it would read something like this:

Current amplitude =
-23 db
-24 db
-35 db
-28 db

That's about it. Now, here is where I really begin to show how new I am...

I think what I'm describing is referred to as data logging? Is that correct?
Is this kind of radio wave information produced only as a result of demodulating one?
Is there software that exists which outputs or returns wave information?
And could I use either an oscilloscope or a spectrum analyzer to do this?

Again, the big catch for me here is that the data file (the one holding all the wave information) is continually updated. So that when I reference or ping the latest value written to it, it will be updated in real-time.

I really hope that this makes sense. As I mentioned in the subject, I'm just trying to use radio waves to generate random numbers, which can then be used as live data in an already running program.

Thank you again. And thank you for your patience as I begin my foray into radio :)

Sincerely,
kropcke

kropcke

Hi mmckenna,

Thank you so much for your response. I've looked into SDR a little bit,
but in all honesty, working with analog radio as a source feels more real.

I'll try another layman's illustration here:

1) I have a radio playing on a frequency