what is the best digital trunking scanner under 250

Status
Not open for further replies.

adacats

Scanner and Train Nerd
I am looking to buy a digital trunking scanner. Most of them run 300-400. What is the best scanner I can get for $250 or less? I am new to scanners, and want to get a good one that will last a while, but don't want to spend too much. Not sure if all digital scanners support it, but if not it would be great if it supported receiving the MARCS system. Thanks for the help.

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
I am looking to buy a digital trunking scanner. Most of them run 300-400. What is the best scanner I can get for $250 or less? I am new to scanners, and want to get a good one that will last a while, but don't want to spend too much. Not sure if all digital scanners support it, but if not it would be great if it supported receiving the MARCS system. Thanks for the help.
Hi kr
Welcome to RadioReference

The "best" digital scanner you can get for $250 would likely have to be a used scanner, either found in the classified on this site, on eBay, or other online avenues. Anything 'new in box' is going to be substantially more.

Your most likely candidates would be the discontinued Uniden BCD396T or BCD9966T. I have seen some sold in the low $200's. Another possibility, perhaps, would be the Pro-96 or Pro-2096. However, those two scanners have been discontinued much longer, and parts and service support are getting thin. Also the 96/2096 will not trunk-track a system using 700MHz frequencies; the 396T & 996T both will. While your area may not have any systems using those, at this time, they are becoming more common.

Of course, keep your eyes open, especially at a local hamfest. You might find a diamond in the ditch like this member did.

adacats

Scanner and Train Nerd
recommendations