wrapping my head around AM, FM, SSB

Status
Not open for further replies.

leaf

Premium Subscriber
Hey all,

I'm new to Radio and am waiting on my BCD396XT in the mail.. and in the meantime, trying to wrap my head around a few concepts, and also messing around with my little Grundig G4...

Wondering if someone can help clarify a couple of things for me, maybe answer a question or two!

1.) The way I am understanding it is that the type of modulation defines how a signal gets "put" onto the carrier wave. So for an AM (or FM) signal, say 770 Khz, there are no "sides", right?. With your receiver you just tune to 770 Khz. Is the carrier wave the same wave that carries the information too? (770 Khz).

2.) WIth SSB, there is the Carrier wave, say 4.0 Mhz, but the information can be heard on the USB or LSB of 4.0 Mhz, therefore you have to tune up or down from the carrier wave. Is this correct??? Seems too simple!

3.) And lastly, when someone says "we will be on 6 meter band tonight", how do we know what that includes? According the the math I have learned from my ARRL book... 300 / 6 meters = 50Mhz....But according to wiki the 6-meter band ranges from 50Mhz-54Mhz. How does one know that this band is 4Mhz wide? The bands that I look up do not all seem to be the same width. (ex: 10m band is from 28-29.7Mhz).

Apologies for the long thread, but any info would really help!!! I plan on messing with my 396XT for a while and then becoming a HAM like you guys in the future :)

Thanks,
leaf

lep

How do I know how wide the bands are? I memorize them. And another 'fact' to recognize is that the width of the allocation depends on the country one is in. For example, in the USA the 2 meter band is 144 to 148 MHz but in most European countries it is only 144-146 MHz. After doing it for a while it just seems second nature to have these rather obscure facts at your finger tip.

good luck.

QDP2012

Welcome to RR,