Looking for Police Frequency/New Scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barnum

Hi, just purchased a Radio Shack PRO-2018 Scanner, and having trouble locating the frequency for my home town. I live in Rowlett, Texas and when I go to the list it says trunked system with Garland. Have no clue what tht means....any help would be appreciated. I am a very old newbie.

JStemann

Premium Subscriber
Unfortunately, your new scanner won't work for the system in use in your area. It looks like a basic analog trunking scanner would work for you, for now. You should be able to get into an adequate scanner for under $200. I would also caution that several systems are migrating to digital modulation(p25). I believe Tx DPS is using p25 digital. Other than DPS, most everything around Dallas appears to be analog. FYI, a digital capable scanner would usually run around $400.

Basically, trunking allows the users of the system to share group of frequencies. Users are assigned to talkgroups (police, fire, ems) instead of frequencies. What would take 20, 50 or 100 conventional frequencies can be accomplished with maybe 5-10 in a trunked system. A computer(controller) keeps things organized to keep one group (sanitation) from interfering with another group (police). This is a VERY basic description of a trunked system, for much more info you can check this link from the WIKI.

Trunking Basics - The RadioReference Wiki

Hope this helps,
Jeff.

Barnum

Thanks Jeff....guess I should have asked this before I bought this item.

I live on SS and cannot afford the items you mentioned. Oh well, you live and learn.

Tahoe1970

Premium Subscriber
Not to make it more difficult/confusing, but.....

...it also looks like that system has undergone 800mHz frequency rebanding. Essentially what it means is that not all trunking scanners may be able to follow all the conversations.

Here's the wiki link for the radios which should work with that system currently