I need a cheap scanner to listen to police and ems frequencies + basic help me:

Status
Not open for further replies.

vtemt123

I'm trying to pick up basic EMS, police, and fire frequencies. I need a scanner that I can pick up for >$300 so that I can listen to these frequencies. What type of divice should I be looking for, where can I get it, how do I program it, etc.

I'm very new to this stuff. Thanks for the help.

n5ims

I'm trying to pick up basic EMS, police, and fire frequencies. I need a scanner that I can pick up for >$300 so that I can listen to these frequencies. What type of divice should I be looking for, where can I get it, how do I program it, etc.

I'm very new to this stuff. Thanks for the help.

First off, welcome to Radio Reference.

The type (and often the cost) of the scanner you'll need is directly related to what you want to listen to. Unfortunately that's not as easy as PD, FD, or even Dog Catcher. It's really about what types of radio systems what you want to hear uses. If they use a trunked digital radio system (don't worry about what that is, only if they use it) you'll need a digital capable scanner (generally the most expensive type out there). If they use standard an analog conventional system then the lowest cost scanner will do the job. Once you find out what type of systems are in use in your area, a look at the RR WIKI (start here for that --> Category:Radio Models - The RadioReference Wiki) will help you find the scanner that will work for what you want.

Be aware though that some systems simply can't be monitored because they're encrypted or the system isn't one that any scanner is made to work on (generally proprietary systems like OpenSky, ProVoice, and MotoTRBO).