New member needing help

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmanning72

Hi I am new to the scanner world and looking for advice on the type of device I should be searching for. I have listened to scanners in the past that would scramble certain transmissions such as state police. I am looking for a scanner that is capable of decoding this, but do I also need a digital scanner to accomplish this? I live in Virginia btw, so I guess they use the STARS system if that helps. I also have a friend that works for the county and has a radio in his office, the Motorola XTS 2500. He says it picks up a lot of "private" information that a scanner may not be able to. I looked up the specs on it and it says "Prevents scanners, unwanted listeners and other interference." Is this even possible? Or does that refer to analog scanners since this is a digital device? I guess I'm wondering if the XTS 2500 or a similar device would be better suited for what I want than a scanner? Thanks for the help in advance.

WA0CBW

Premium Subscriber