Newbie.. Some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rmar

Hi everyone, This is my first post here on the forums, I've been browsing for a little bit, and found nothing that answered all of my questions.. Please bare with me, I'm a complete newbie.

So, I've been looking to get some new radio's for me and my buddy's personal use, and we stumbled upon some BaoFeng radios that appealed to us, and seemed a little bit more than the standard, radio-shack stuff. So, we are interested in buying them, however, I don't know much at all about it, and If i would need a license, since i don't want to get in trouble for not knowing the rules!

So, We were looking at the BaoFeng 888S model radios, this is the eBay listing that we found.. 5 Pcs BF 888s Walkie Talkie UHF 5W 16CH 2 Way Radio 5 Pcs Speaker Mic US Stock | eBay

The questions I have, and I have not been able to find, are that these are UHF radios. They have the 400-470 frequency, and I'm not sure what type (FRS, MURS, GMRS, or CB) that is, since doing some searching, I have not found anything that answers that.

Would I need a license to operate these out-of-the-box, can I operate these out of the box? ie. Can I take it out of the package, put it on one of the channels that the radio has, and use it?

These radio's seem like they are a good compromise for the terrain where we live, which is a sub-urban environment, some places are all trees, and some places are buildings and town settings. It also had a price that appealed to us, and decent reviews on eBay and other sites, even though it is from china, and I can expect it not to be the best thing in the world, but for $22 per radio, including the hand-piece, and the charger, I think it is a decent deal..

Thanks again, sorry I'm so new to this.

Sorry if i posted in the wrong section.. I'm new and this is my first post.. Please move sections if needed!

robertmac

Premium Subscriber