RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > New User / Getting Started Forum

New User / Getting Started Forum The place for new users to discuss how to get started, and generally feel safe from the rest of the rabid technical community. If you just got your first scanner, this forum is for you.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2013, 5:02 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Default UV5R Programming Workflow

I just ordered a UV5R with a USB programming cable. I plan to use it with CHIRP. Since this is my first radio and I'm not licensed, I definitely do not want to transmit on it. I just want to listen in and learn for now.

With this being said, I'd like to make sure I get the proper workflow to add the frequencies to the scanner. I'm hoping to verify it with people here to make sure I'm on the right track.

1) Download CHIRP and get the USB drivers working properly.
2) Register with RR for a premium account.
3) Query the database and download the CSV for frequencies in my area.
4) Import them into CHIRP.
5) Change the "Duplex" to "SPLIT", in the offset, use '1666.666650'.
6) Write to radio.
7) Done.

By doing this, even if you hit the PTT (or any other) buttons, you will not transmit because you set the duplex to split and use that 1666.666650 offset.

If somebody can verify that I'm on the right track, that would be great.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2013, 9:02 PM
ermin's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Delray Beach Florida
Posts: 236
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiz561 View Post
I just ordered a UV5R with a USB programming cable. I plan to use it with CHIRP. Since this is my first radio and I'm not licensed, I definitely do not want to transmit on it. I just want to listen in and learn for now.

With this being said, I'd like to make sure I get the proper workflow to add the frequencies to the scanner. I'm hoping to verify it with people here to make sure I'm on the right track.

1) Download CHIRP and get the USB drivers working properly.
2) Register with RR for a premium account.
3) Query the database and download the CSV for frequencies in my area.
4) Import them into CHIRP.
5) Change the "Duplex" to "SPLIT", in the offset, use '1666.666650'.
6) Write to radio.
7) Done.

By doing this, even if you hit the PTT (or any other) buttons, you will not transmit because you set the duplex to split and use that 1666.666650 offset.

If somebody can verify that I'm on the right track, that would be great.

Thanks!
Hello

Chirp has a feature to disable VHF & UHF transmit so you don't have to worry about the offset. It's in SETTINGS on the Other Settings tab.

73

Ermin
__________________
"Never eat more than you can lift" -- Miss Piggy
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2013, 9:06 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Default thanks!

Thanks for the response. I will check out that setting to disable tx.

As far as everything else goes, is that the right way to go about programming it?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2013, 7:36 AM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiz561 View Post
I just ordered a UV5R with a USB programming cable. I plan to use it with CHIRP. Since this is my first radio and I'm not licensed, I definitely do not want to transmit on it. I just want to listen in and learn for now.

With this being said, I'd like to make sure I get the proper workflow to add the frequencies to the scanner. I'm hoping to verify it with people here to make sure I'm on the right track.

1) Download CHIRP and get the USB drivers working properly.
2) Register with RR for a premium account.
3) Query the database and download the CSV for frequencies in my area.
4) Import them into CHIRP.
5) Change the "Duplex" to "SPLIT", in the offset, use '1666.666650'.
6) Write to radio.
7) Done.

By doing this, even if you hit the PTT (or any other) buttons, you will not transmit because you set the duplex to split and use that 1666.666650 offset.

If somebody can verify that I'm on the right track, that would be great.

Thanks!
1a)Read from radio.

ALWAYS Read from a Radio first. It proves that communications between the PC and the Radio is working correctly.

--
Comint


--
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2013, 8:27 AM
Wiki Admin Emeritus
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowie, Md.
Posts: 17,425
Default

Before you go too much further, there have been MANY messages on the CHIRP mailing list about working with the UV5R. I'd suggest joining it and reading through them

There is also an EXTENSIVE set of wiki articles on the CHIRP wiki on cables - I'd read them as well and make sure you're getting the right cable. I've been thinking on this myself and apparently CHIRP is very sensitive to this. Here are the links...

chirp_users Info Page

CableGuide - CHIRP

CableGuide FTDI OEM Cables - CHIRP

Also be sure to always get the latest daily build - the version that's on the demo page is not current

Index of /chirp_daily

HTH...Mike
__________________
links editor, Utility Monitoring Central
HF Forum moderator, RadioReference
Friends don't let friends buy Scancat Lite Plus!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2013, 3:10 PM
jeepinjeepin's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 242
Default UV5R Programming Workflow

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiz561 View Post
Thanks for the response. I will check out that setting to disable tx.

As far as everything else goes, is that the right way to go about programming it?

Thanks!
I would definitely just disable TX instead of a crazy offset. That way when you get your ham license you just have to hook it back up and check 2 boxes and all your local freqs are ready to go.
__________________
Josh
KK4TUX
Winston-Salem and thereabouts
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2013, 7:58 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepinjeepin View Post
I would definitely just disable TX instead of a crazy offset. That way when you get your ham license you just have to hook it back up and check 2 boxes and all your local freqs are ready to go.
Thanks for the response. I opened up Chirp (both the devel and the stable version), but couldn't find where you can go into an 'other settings' area to disable anything. Do you have to have the radio hooked up for it?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2013, 8:59 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Default TX Disable

Just to give some info about this to others... It turns out that disabling the tx in the settings didn't really disable it for me. I don't know a whole lot about it, but I don't want to be fooling around much with it.

I'm also unable to set the offset to the 166...number I posted earlier in the thread.

I did find that setting duplex to "Off" (I believe) disabled transmitting. I could be wrong, but it looks like that's what worked for others online.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2014, 7:28 PM
k6cpo's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 92
Default

I tried disabling the TX in my Baofeng UV-5RE just to see if it would work and it didn't. However, I overheard something at my ham radio club meeting last night that might explain why. One of the members of my club who has a UV-5RA said that CHIRP won't overwrite anything that is already programmed into the radio. I tried this with a couple of settings and sure enough, he's right. To get the settings to change, I had to actually reset the entire radio and re-enter the information into the radio. On one of the channels, I actually had to delete the channel from the raio, download the remaining programming into CHIRP, reprogram that channel and upload back to the radio.

I'm beginning to think I might invest in the RT Sytems software. It's got to work better than CHIRP.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2014, 11:54 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
Default

On the daily build of 1/9/2013 you must check your A/B monitor freq. this build changes it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions