New Ham Radio Operator

Status
Not open for further replies.

kingras

Hi, I'm a sophomore in high school. I have a TYT-9000 I got for Christmas this year. I have no set it up yet because I have not yet gotten a power supply. I also do not have my license yet but will be getting it shortly! I need some antenna ideas, mother does not want a big antenna on to roof haha. I'm think to put something in the attic or something that I cant put in my room or out my window or something. Any ideas?

trap5858

Premium Subscriber
A magnetic mount 2 meter mobile antenna mounted to a large metal object like a file cabinet or refrigerator would do the trick. Even a large baking sheet could serve as a ground plain. There are lots of un-obtrusive vertical antennas that could be mounted on the exterior of your home.

Good luck and welcome to the hobby.

wyShack

Premium Subscriber
For two meters a 'ground plane' should be a quarter wave in all directions. A mag mount on a cookie sheet will work fine. Remember to keep the power down when using a indoor antenna for transmitting-see the Part 97 rules on RF exposure-BTW this includes the operator. For the most part working repeaters and local 5 watts is fine. If you want more distance get the antenna up high (it can be the same whip and cookie sheet). Range is mostly antenna height above average ground level (or HAAT if you are technical). If you can't work a station with 25 watts more power rarely makes a difference- but 20 feet higher on the antenna will dramatically increase range. The antenna of the other station (or repeater) likewise impacts communication range -that's why repeaters tend to be located 'up high'. Welcome aboard and remember to continue to read and learn-like driving the license is a first step-not the last. 73

teufler