Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Huntingdeer24

Radio shack pro 93
I'm about to buy that one and I'm looking for the freaq. And it does not show them just dec and hex on this site. Is their something I'm missing? I'm looking for gardendale al. Jefferson county

RDGDigital

I'm not sure if the Pro 93 will work for your needs. According to the RR Wiki for the Pro-93 this scanner does not support rebanding. And according to the RR database the Gardendale, AL police and fire are trunk groups on Jefferson County Public Services system which has some systems that have already undergone rebanding.

I believe that you will need a scanner that supports digital trunking with rebanding. I'm not really an expert so you may want to wait for others to provide better information and for what scanners may work in your area.

Spitfire8520

I might be completely clueless! =)
The Pro-93 will not suit your needs. You will not be able to hear local public safety with the Pro-93 scanner.

According to the database, Gardendale is on the Jefferson County Public Services Trunking System and are operating with digital voice (indicated by the 'D' in the mode column). This means that you will need a digital trunking scanner which can be a little pricey. I have attached a list of current digital scanners on the market, but I highly suggest you also take time and research the scanners yourself before making a purchase.

Current Models:
Uniden BCD436HP (Handheld)
Uniden BCD536HP (Base/Mobile)
Uniden BCD396XT (Handheld)
Uniden BCD996XT (Base/Mobile)
Uniden HomePatrol-1 (Base/Mobile)

Special Case Current Models:
These following models are discontinued, but may still be found in local RadioShack stores or online. Models will eventually be resold under a different name in the future.
GRE PSR-800 [Future Whistler WS1080] (Handheld)
RadioShack Pro-106 [Future RadioShack Pro-651 & Whistler WS1040] (Handheld)
RadioShack Pro-197 [Future RadioShack Pro-652 & Whistler WS1065] (Base/Mobile)