RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > New User / Getting Started Forum

New User / Getting Started Forum The place for new users to discuss how to get started, and generally feel safe from the rest of the rabid technical community. If you just got your first scanner, this forum is for you.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2014, 9:01 AM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Default Source for Decent Used Scanners?

Am looking for a good source for a decent, used Trunk Tracking IV (or equivalent) scanner. Ebay seems overpriced. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Tim
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2014, 9:09 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taspencer View Post
Am looking for a good source for a decent, used Trunk Tracking IV (or equivalent) scanner. Ebay seems overpriced. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Tim
Check this thread:

Used Scanners?

.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2014, 9:28 AM
fourthhorseman's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 553' Above Sea Level!
Posts: 1,426
Default

Ive used EBAY for many purchases..Buy from sellers with good feedback and you will be pleased..\

Got all my radio's from there and have not had any issues with D-O-A..And after searching and waitng I always got good deals..Better then what Ive seen listed elsewhere.Its an auction site so BuyNows may be inflated,but usually the auction's stay reasonable..Just dont get into a whizzing contest and know when to walk away..

the short list,

AOR 8200 MK3
Pro106
PSR500
PSR800
PSR310
396XT
996XT
Couple Baofengs..
XTS3K

a few car stereos,
radar detectors,
several GPS units

PayPal covers against fraud,

Again,,Just use sellers with good Feedback and Shop Around..

Good Luck!
__________________
Yep..Got some radios..I can hear lotsa stuff...

Last edited by fourthhorseman; 05-29-2014 at 9:34 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2014, 12:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you both - appreciate!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2014, 1:34 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 10
Default

I suspect that people like me who bought a scanner but can't figure out how to use it might be good sources for barely used scanners. I'm getting extremely frustrated with my 396XT.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2014, 1:46 PM
mikepdx's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Corbett, OR USA
Posts: 556
Default

Craigslist often has them dirt cheap and you can try B4 you buy.
Check daily.

Thrift stores and flea markets are good, too
I just grabbed a Pro-96 P25 scanner
in very good shape for $7.99 - No lie.

Much luck!
__________________
"I prefer dangerous freedom to peaceful slavery."
-- Thomas Jefferson
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2014, 2:40 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stardog01 View Post
I suspect that people like me who bought a scanner but can't figure out how to use it might be good sources for barely used scanners. I'm getting extremely frustrated with my 396XT.
Why? FREE SCAN is just that, free software and the cable comes with the scanner. You do have to subscribe to Radio Reference. $19

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2014, 6:09 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KW4HKY View Post
Why? FREE SCAN is just that, free software and the cable comes with the scanner. You do have to subscribe to Radio Reference. $19

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
I downloaded FreeScan, but it won't connect to my scanner. The ARC software that I have will connect with my scanner. But even with Arc software it makes no sense to me. I'm trying to program a few simple frequencies for an upcoming airshow. Not even complicated trunking frequencies. But I can't figure out how to get a single frequency into the scanner. Been working at it for hours but can't make any progress.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2014, 7:15 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 62
Default

Choose your state. Choose trunking or conventional. Choose your county. Select the frequency you want. Import it.

Connect and choose send to radio.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions