Use Grecom PSR-200U to hear police dispatch

Status
Not open for further replies.

brianwc

Hi,

Total newbie here. I have the Grecom PSR-200U. I want to hear the Emeryville, CA police dispatch. There is some info on this site at this link: https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=5317 but I don't understand how to use that information to tune my scanner.

Emeryville Talkgroups

Primary site - ALCO NW
DEC HEX Mode Alpha Tag Description Tag
3155 c53 D EmryvillePD1 Police Dispatch Law Dispatch
3156 c54 D EmryvillePD2 Police Ch 2 Law Tac
3157 c55 D EmryvillePD3 Police Ch 3 Law Tac
3158 c56 E EmryvillePD4 Police Ch 4 Law Tac

When I first bought this scanner the police were using a different system and it almost automatically tuned right to the correct channel, so I never needed to learn what all these buttons do. I don't really need to learn everything it can do. I just want to tune to police dispatch and leave it there. I tried searching these forums and reading the FAQ, but I am so new at this that it really just confuses me even more. Thanks for any help.

brianwc

Bummer

Well, thanks for the reply, even if it brings bad news. Is there a $100 or less scanner you'd recommend that can deal with digital trunk systems?

Ed_Seedhouse

Premium Subscriber
For a hundred bucks I imagine you'll have to frequent yard sales and thrift stores. I don't think there's a new P25 scanner under about 300 bucks or so.

I have a friend who got a used GRE 500 for twenty bucks at a garage sale, so it can be done.

Last edited:

brianwc

"P25"? What's that mean? Can anyone explain the DEC and Hex codes in that listing above? I don't even understand what kind of scanner I need to be looking for. If I raised my price to $300 what scanners would work for this purpose? What "feature" or capability do I need to be looking for in a scanner in order to be sure to be able to follow the dispatch listed above?

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
"P25"? What's that mean?