Help needed in using Uniden BCD436HP to zero in on a specific signals

Status
Not open for further replies.

Farhad

Hi,
I am a total newbie at scanning and his is my first post here.

I live in New Smyrna Beach, Volusia County, Florida, and I purchased a Uniden BCD436HP which comes pre-loaded with a US-Canada frequencies database. My desire is to listen to what is happening in my town by scanning the radio signals of the New Smyrna Beach Police.

The day I got my new scanner I easily entered my zip code, then I chose selected my service types (Emergency Ops, Law Dispatch, Law Talk, Multi-Dispatch on, all the others off) and 3min later I was listening to the cops in my county. Except that this included all the other towns.

I took a look at the Volusia County page at the Radio Reference Frequences Database (https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?ctid=379), but I did not find a way to use this info to somehow program my scanner to listen only to the cops in my town and not in the entire county.

Could you please help me with that?

My second question is this: when I am on the road, I would like to listen to truckers and their signals which, iirc, is in CB. Another alternaive would be CB+FRS+GRMS+MURS (to really cover all possible signals from travelers on the road).

How do I best set this up on my scanner?

Last question, when I travel around our cities I would like to know what the security situation is around me. Is setting my scanner to "Close Call Only" the correct solution? I tried today in Daytona Beach and all I heard was static. What am I doing wrong? Is there a setting for "police signals within, say, 3 miles of my location".

Many thanks for any pointers,

Farik

stingray327

Hi,
I am a total newbie at scanning and his is my first post here.