What Scanner tolisten to LAPD

Status
Not open for further replies.

THISISAMELK

Hello everyone,I am somewhat new to scanners and I was wondering what scanner I should buy to listen to the LAPD I have been thinking about the bcd436hp and the 396xt. Thank you.

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
Both are excellent scanners.

LAPD uses mostly digital, so you'll need one that will handle that.

The 396XT is portable. The 536 is base/mobile at least for now.

I'm probably unleashing a beast by mentioning this, but here goes. Uniden is working on a Siren App for the 536. When finished, this iPhone app will allow your iPhone to control and listen to the scanner. It has taken much longer than anticipated for this app (more than enough discussion has taken place about this elsewhere), but I'm confident we'll see it at some point. Thus it will allow the 536 to be more or less "portable", if you have an iPhone. I understand an Android app will be the next project.

I have two 536's and am quite happy with them. (Be even happier when the app comes out, however).

SCPD

QRT
Agreed the 436 and 536. I'm looking at same ones. There's the whistler 1080 I hear is decent also. I'm more of a keypad fan however.

THISISAMELK

Thanks for the reply ofd8001 and ptolemy9200 for the replies and i was just wondering is the big difference between the 2 like major differences?

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
The 396XT and 436 are portable scanners, meaning you can carry them around. The 436 is the latest model, having many more features. The 436 is a little easier to use right off the bat, very little set up. With the 396 you have to do some programming, which is complicated for a new person to this type of scanner. (It can be done, but will take some patience).

If I had to choose between the 396 or the 436, I'd go with a 436 hands down (unless $ is an issue).

The 536 is essentially the portable version of the 436. The only thing the 536 has is that siren app.