Looking into purchasing mobile scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

scottytahoe

Hello all,
New to the site and have been doing quit a bit of reading and searching.
I live in North Lake Tahoe, Placer County. I drive semi trucks locally and some long distance. I have searched in the Database tab and see FMN and FM in the mode column and os non-digital.

I'm looking at the BCD996XT or the BCD536HP. Though money is tight as i'm on disability for fractioning my lower spine i'm leaning towards the 996XT. I'm new to scanners and don't know much but do know what I think I know I should get. I do a lot of driving through California and Nevada which the county's are Placer, Washoe, douglas and then some. I'm assuming that I would want the GPS (for either radio) as I also do some long haul in the slow months.

I want a radio that I won't get bored of after a year. The 996XT (from what I have read) is an older but reliable radio. So being older is it going to become useless in the next couple of years? I would also like to listen to air traffic. Is this available? Or should I go with the 536HP to keep up with technology like digital radio frequency. Not sure how long or if Reno and Tahoe will stay on FMN or FM. Hope this makes sense.

Thanks
Scotty

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Hello all,
New to the site and have been doing quit a bit of reading and searching.
I live in North Lake Tahoe, Placer County. I drive semi trucks locally and some long distance. I have searched in the Database tab and see FMN and FM in the mode column and os non-digital.