Upload to Scanner Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

V23

Premium Subscriber
I'm totally new to scanners but got my Christmas wish and I'm the proud owner of a Uniden BCD 396XT digital scanner. I'm using acr-xt to configure the programming but I can't upload the programming to my scanner. My Toshiba laptop that runs Windows 7 and I purchased the Uniden USB-1 Interface cable to connect the scanner to the computer. Once I have all the programming done, I try to upload but get a message that reads: "Serial port is not available or used by other software." Several attempts net the same result. I'm baffled. The Uniden USB-1 is the only thing plugged into the computer.
I know I must be doing something wrong. Additionally, when I close out the acr-xt programming and re-open it, my previous programming does not appear even though I saved the programming before I closed out.
Any idea where this rookie is going wrong? Appreciate any helpful advice!

Bucko

I take it you installed the driver for your USB-1 cable? If so go to the device manager of your computer and look under Ports and see what port is assigned for your USB to Serial device. Here is a link for Prolifis drivers Products.

737mech

Premium Subscriber
I'm totally new to scanners but got my Christmas wish and I'm the proud owner of a Uniden BCD 396XT digital scanner. I'm using acr-xt to configure the programming but I can't upload the programming to my scanner. My Toshiba laptop that runs Windows 7 and I purchased the Uniden USB-1 Interface cable to connect the scanner to the computer. Once I have all the programming done, I try to upload but get a message that reads: "Serial port is not available or used by other software." Several attempts net the same result. I'm baffled. The Uniden USB-1 is the only thing plugged into the computer.