Garbled transmissions

Status
Not open for further replies.

budbrur

Premium Subscriber
Help, I am new to scanning project 25 systems.
I am trying to scan York County, VA. Everything I hear is garbled. Any suggestions?

Spitfire8520

I might be completely clueless! =)
If you're talking about James City / York / Williamsburg, then it looks like all the law enforcement is encrypted and there is nothing that can be done beside either deleting the encrypted talkgroups or locking them out. You can see if it's known to be encrypted by looking at the Mode column next to the talkgroup for an E. There's a chance that the database isn't entirely updated, so it may not accurately reflect what is encrypted and what is still in the clear.

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
If this is the system you are trying to receive:Peninsula Site Details (James City / York / Williamsburg) it is shown as a six site simulcast system.

Simulcast systems are known for simulcast distortion on many scanners and can be dependent on where you are with respect to the sites. What you are describing is a classic symption of simulcast distortion.

A simulcast system transmits from multiple sites (in your case, 6) all on the same frequencies. Your scanner may be receiving transmissions from two or more sites. Because the transmissions are a little out of sync - data stream from site 1 is micro-seconds off from site 2, your scanner has trouble "understanding" what it receives. This is actually called "decoding". This will typically manifest itself with garbled or no audio. Unfortunately this happens, even though the signal strength meter on the scanner may show a strong signal.

A good way of confirming this is to take your scanner to within 1/4 to 1/2 mile of a site and give it a listen. If you hear clear audio, that confirms simulcast distortion. That's because the signal from that one site "overwhelms" the others.