Very new to this

Status
Not open for further replies.

taikamiya44

I Dont know if i should be asking these questions and i dont know what exactly im looking for. But im basically looking to know what the best overall scanner i should purchase these days. I would like to look at our local police frequency like many people have as a hobby for years in our small town. But they have encrypted it with a mototrbo Radio the last ive heard of. I dont know exactly how these work let alone can scanners be tracked ? i would like to buy a scanner and listen to all the frequencies fire, police and ambulance if i could but i know the police one is coded. Ps i am really new to this so if im asking dumb questions im sorry.

captclint

Mentor
Welcome to RR. Anything that is encrypted can not be monitored by ANY scanner. You say you live in a small town. New York is hardly a small town.:p It would help it you could tell us the town and county so we can determine if anything else can be monitored.

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
Newer scanners have "stuff" inside that "passes over" encrypted radio transmissions.

If you had an older scanner, you could "hear" an encrypted transmission, but what you heard is noise. It could be something like a long hiss, "motorboating", "machine gunning" or just plain racket - certainly nothing intelligible.

Mototrbo is not an encrypted "thing" per se, rather it is a digital radio format that cannot be decoded by any scanner currently on the market. Whether that changes is anyone's guess. And it is possible that a Motortrbo signal could also be encrypted. I guess what I'm trying to say is that Motortrbo doesn't automatically mean "encrypted".

Voyager

Either encrypted anything or MotoTRBO will not be usable on a scanner. And scanners cannot be tracked (generally speaking). As cc said, need more info for a better answer.

kc2kth