Hello from newbie with a question

Status
Not open for further replies.

mnca711

Hey everyone

Newbie here. Need little help. First let me start off with basics. Name is Manuel and I'm from Lodi- Stockton Ca area. Now with what i need help.

I used to have a Kenwood tk-3170 which was a wonderful radio. I work in security so i had it with my job frequency and all local pd, fire etc.... Well everything went digital and radio wasn't worth me keep around (sold it) since it didn't do what i wanted to do. Meaning work as a scanner but also was able to communicate with my job.

So my question and hope im even asking in the right forms is what radio would i be able to use to communicate with my job and also be used as a scanner for my area which is using digital frequency.

I know i can just buy a scanner but that wouldnt let me communicate with my job and thats what im looking for.

Hope my question makes sense and if you need anymore information please feel free to ask.

Thanks and hope someone out there can help me out.

bob550

Premium Subscriber
Hi Manuel, and welcome to the forum. What you're asking, as I understand it, is that you'd like a single radio that will allow you to transmit/receive on the specific frequencies required for your job, and also serve as a digital scanner. Your Kenwood tk-3170 must have operated within the same frequency bands as your local PD, and so you were able to also receive their transmissions as well. Also, I would think that capability would only be possible if your Kenwood was professionally programmed by a local radio shop. However, a scanner, by nature, allows you to receive transmissions over a wide frequency range generally not found on the average business band portable radio. To do what you want, you'd be best with a portable two-way radio for your job, and a dedicated digital-capable scanner for general reception. Finding one radio to do what you want would be a challenge.

teufler