Police scanner for eastern Ohio

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdenfuny

Premium Subscriber
I would like a scanner that can monitor police, fire, and EMS. I live in eastern Ohio. From what I understand Ohio is going to something called MARCS-IP soon (or maybe they are already on this? https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6643). I understand that this is digital, but I can't quite figure out what scanners will work. I have looked at the Whistler WS1010 (I asked about this one in another post), but after during some more research today, I don't think this one would work. I think the WS1080 would work, but I am not sure. The WS 1040 is cheaper, but I don't think that one would work.

(1) Is there a list of common handheld scanners that will pick up the Ohio traffic even after everything is moved to this new system?

(2) Would a handheld Ham radio work for this? (which models?)

I am a complete newbie at radio, but I have wanted to get into this because I would like to be able to monitor police radios in an emergency. I am currently studying for the Technician Ham exam and I hope to pass this exam over the summer.

W8RMH

Feed Provider Since 2012
MARCS-IP will eventually go to Phase II digital. I recommend a Phase II capable scanner such as the:

Uniden HomePatrol-2, BCD436HP, BCD536HP.BCD996P2, or the BCD325P2.

The first three have the entire RadioReference database on a SD card and are easier to program for your area.

There are also some digital models that will not decode Phase II but I would hate to see you spend hundreds of dollars on a radio that may not work in a few years.

There are no amateur radios that will monitor P25 Digital.

Last edited:

Nasby

Before you buy anything, check in the database (or ask in the Ohio forums) regarding the county and agencies you want to hear.

There are many law enforcement agencies in eastern Ohio that are encrypted, meaning that no scanner on the market will receive them.

tdenfuny

Premium Subscriber