Getting back into Scanning again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bronson24

Premium Subscriber
Hi, I use to own the GRE PSR-800 I sold it and thought I wouldn't get back into scanning again. Well I am wanting to. Can someone point me in the right direction on which model and brand new scanner i should go with? Im located in Frostproof,FL I like listening to the police and Areo med. I dont know weather I should go back with the PSR-800 or another one. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Bronson24

Premium Subscriber
I will also be using this while traveling up to north Florida,GA and AL..I drive a semi for a living.

R

retiredmich

OK , then I would suggest to get a digital scanner, being every thing now a day's is gone to Digital, & you can program a lot of different departments in it for different state's being you are a truck driver & travel all over. Mind you though, a new scanner will cost you $$$, but if you go on ebay you can bid on a good used digital scanner or even a new one. Just trying to help, Happy Scanning

Bronson24

Premium Subscriber
No problem. Thats what I need just trying to figure out which brand and model would best suit me. should I go back with the PSR-800?

rhoggman

I was thinking about getting it. Never owned a scanner before. Supposedly when a GPS is attached it programs itself. I looked up all of my local info here, and this scanner pretty much does it all.

Uniden BCD436HP HomePatrol Series Digital Handheld Scanner

R

retiredmich

Yes Sir, any digital will do, which ever one you are comfortable with.

R

retiredmich

I my self like the RS PRO 106, course I program all my scanners manually , you can get the soft ware to program scanner's. But any digital will work.

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
The 396 is a little "long in the tooth" as it won't decode P25 Phase II systems, so I'd rule that out.