Local frequencies needed for my BC125AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

WBOZ_FM

Hey everyone; I am a newbie to the scanner world. I started getting interested in scanners when we lost power for three days and having no contact with what is going on and you are twenty five miles from the nearest town is not a good feeling.

I am already in a very isolated area in Charles County MD, Newburg 20664 area off the Potomac river, so I am sure I can get areas across the river in Dahlgren VA area as my radio has a twenty mile radius. Based on what others have said on the internet about a good handheld radio, I choose the BC125AT and I have the Scanner Master program. At first I had a difficult time getting the downloads because, I needed the drivers for my computer. I have everything in my system now and am ready to start. I love the fact that with the BC125AT you can tune into Marine, Aircraft, Railroad and the many frequencies of EMS etc.

Can anyone help me with getting my scanner programed & running at full capacity so I can get used to all the options my radio has. I have a background with mechanical and electrical trouble shooting, being a retired elevator mechanic of many years. I went to computer college & graduated in the top five of my class in computer repair, and stayed in the elevator business, but that was when the digital age really started to take off in 1991, no cell phones, just beepers, so you can see that I am behind in the modern technologies but I am a quick learner if someone can give me some advice on getting my radio tuned properly to all the channels available in my area.

I would really appreciate any help because I need to catch up. Many Thanks to all.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Hi WBOZ and welcome...before we get started, it's important to know what it is you want to hear? The 125 is not a trunking scanner, so it won't hear the Charles county system (where most of your local action seems to be). However you're not without resources.