Police Scanners and 800mhz Transition

Status
Not open for further replies.

eserednyj

My local police dept just transitioned to the 800mhz system. The hand held radios they are using is the Motorola APX 6000. I am doing research on getting the appropriate scanner. My budget is around $500..Im looking at a Uniden Bearcat - Uniden Bearcat BCD536HP Digital Police Scanner

I'm not sure what to look for as far as compatability. I'm new to all of this, so be easy on me.

W8RMH

Feed Provider Since 2012
Welcome to Radioreference. It would be a great help if you provided your location and/or the department/system name. The BCD536HP is the top of the line and it should work but we can't be sure without first looking at the system details.

Click on your username in yellow at the top of the page and you can enter your city and state.

eserednyj

Thanks for the response. I am in Lake County Indiana. I am specifically looking to listen to the Gary, IN Police. From the research I did, it looks like if the scanner has trunking and P2 I should be good right?

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
https://www.bearcatwarehouse.com/scanners/trunk-trackers/handheld/bcd436hp.html

Here is a link for another scanner I was looking at. I would need to be portable with it.
The 536HP is portable only in the sense that it can be mounted in a vehicle, or used as a base at home.