Newbie looking for Scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimmers8602

Hello to all:

I'm very new to scanning, and have read the FAQs, Scanning 101, etc.

I'm looking for a scanner that is a APCO-25 (P25) Phase II capable handheld, and is most reasonable in cost.

I live in Austin, TX, Travis County zip 78734. I would like to monitor Police, Fire and EMS activity.

I have been to the Texas Forum, but it is very silent with hardly any activity, so I am posting here.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you...

Blackswan73

Lowest cost handheld phase 2 scanner is the R/S Pro 668. New Price is averaging currently between $225-$240. Very capable scanner, and my personal top choice.

pinballwiz86

Premium Subscriber
If you can wait a couple weeks I would check out the Whistler WS1088. You can google it to get more info. There's been a lot of problems with Uniden's newest Phase II offerings.

Blackswan73

A 1088 is nothing more than a 668/1080 with a keyboard added. By the way, Unidentified has had virtually no problems with the HP2. In fact, it still has the same firmware it was released with. No updates needed.

Blackswan73

My point was, the 1088 will gain nothing in performance over the 668, but will cost twice as much. The OP was looking for a low cost phase 2 handheld. The only two handhelds that fit that designation are the 668, or the Uniden P325. If the OP considers a used Radio, then that opens the possibility of a PSR 800, Whistler 1080, or a Uniden 436

dsalomon

Premium Subscriber
As with any new technology that changes frequently, buy the best/most you can afford. In my experience, top end devices tend to depreciate a bit slower than middle/low end devices. You will have something that you will be able to sell/upgrade over time.