Contact person from different state

Status
Not open for further replies.

bhadresh

Hello HAMs,

I am new to radio world. I just cleared by technician test and waiting for my name to be displayed on FCC database.

I hear people saying that contact can be made worldwide through radio. But I am not clear as how to do this.

What I know is that I can transmit to the repeaters near my area. Which will repeat my message a few miles by increasing the output.

The question is, how can I contact someone who is miles away in a different state?

popnokick

Premium Subscriber
Welcome to Amateur Radio (and a Moderator may want to move this thread to an Amateur Radio forum). As a Technician, your "long range" capabilities are somewhat limited from the standpoint of being able to directly transmit on HF frequencies.... which are what will get you the greatest distances. Basically, you have two options: 1) Wait for a 10 meter band opening and use the portion of 10 meters allocated to Technician licensees, 2) See if you are in range of any wide-area network linked repeaters. The latter often cover entire or even multiple states. The real answer: Get your General and an HF rig.

wyShack

Premium Subscriber
3Dphil

While your privileges as a Technician do limit you there are many ways to work long distances if that is what you want to do. One way is via satellite. So called 'weak signal' VHF is another. Look into SSB on six meters or two meters- working long distance on VHF does require dedication and patience. Do some reading or ask a local ham what is going on. Although most hams use FM and repeaters that is only part of the story.

Congrats on getting your ticket-where you go from here is up to you.

n4yek

Or get a DMR radio that is starting to become popular in ham radio if there is a DMR repeater in your area. There are talkgroups used on there that are for 'world-wide', 'North America', "State-wide' and 'local' contacts.

Last edited:

WA0CBW

Premium Subscriber