What kind of radio do I need to listen to this?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would like to listen to this:

"School busses (owned and operated by District 203) use a Capacity Plus MotoTRBO repeater on 153.2225. Color Code is 6, and there appear to be two talkgroups in use - TG 1 and TG 100 (11/4/2015)"

I'm new to this and don't know really what any of this means and am just looking for a radio that would be able to receive that. Please help!

riveter

Premium Subscriber
Scanners are not going to work for you, my friend. No scanner on the current market works with TRBO at all. MotoTRBO is a digital mode (also called DMR, the standard it conforms to) sold by Motorola, and Capacity Plus is a trunked radio system (good term to research) that uses that digital mode.

The two options for monitoring MotoTRBO at all are a MotoTRBO subscriber radio (such as the XPR 6550) or decoding software (such as DSD+).

A subscriber radio is the most functional way. I've never programmed one to follow a Capacity Plus system without transmitting on it (transmitting on an unauthorized system is a BIG no-no), but I do hear it's possible, and it will follow conversations as they jump between channels (see Trunked Radio Systems - The RadioReference Wiki for further). The downside is, proper TRBO radios cost good money, and the TRBO software for programming costs a pretty penny too.