helpp a xmas present i cant get programmed

Status
Not open for further replies.

luvnchoclate

Premium Subscriber
i have a bcd 396xt. i have basic knowledge how they work and after researching for many many hours, i have somehow got a conventional channel entered and work. but that's just 1 channel. when i pull up my city and state Norfolk, va it looks like i should be entered conventional frequencies and p25 standard trunk (which really has me confused. i need a walkthrough - i follow directions well. cant download the program software i keep getting errors so that's why ive resulted to inputting manually. which im fine with cause i really only need fire and police talk and ems. got this great scanner for 4 to 5 codes.. lol but im ok with that. someone please help me. i bought this for a xmas present and i have 1 day to have this programmed for my mom.

Last edited:

kma371

QRT
what errors are you getting when trying to download software? also, which software?

sparklehorse

Premium Subscriber
....cant download the program software i keep getting errors so that's why ive resulted to inputting manually....

Looks like the Public Safety in your city is all on a trunked P25 system. Systems like that are difficult and time consuming to program manually, and prone to errors. Most folks use software such as Freescan to program systems like this. I suggest you try to work through any problems downloading software and give it a try. You'd also need a subscription to Radioreference so you can access the database from within Freescan. It takes a little time and effort to learn the software, but trust me, it is worth it. Programming this way is pretty much a snap once you know how.

A great starting point for learning more about the 396 is Mark's Easier to Read manual:

Easier to Read BCD396XT Digital Scanner Manual

Hope that helps.

Voyager