Former enthusiast getting back in to the hobby

Status
Not open for further replies.

tornado82

Hello All!

Ive been away from the hobby for a long time. I got in when I was a young teenager of just 13 or 14 years old. I had a whole desk full of radio equipment. Everything from shortwave radio, scanners, and my prized CB base station that I loved to talk skip on. I remember reading every issue of Popular Communications magazine. I can remember building my own antennas, and teaching myself to solder. My favorite handheld scanner was the Radio Shack pro 64. I used it for years as a teenager. As I graduated highschool I began to drift out of the communications hobby as I took more to computers and other tech.

Now that you've withstood my barrage of nostalgia, Ill get to the point. Im 33 now, and I look back at those years fondly. I havent owned a scanner now in over 10 years. Trunk Tracking and now digital scanners have come along since Ive been out of the hobby. Im wanting to buy a new hand held scanner now. I dont plan to dive into it like I did years ago (thats what I plan anyways) but I want a good solid scanner. I've begun to look around at what is popular now. Im seeing the Pro-651, Whistler 1040, and lots of different uniden options. I'm hoping to get some help from some enthusiasts who are still well ingrained in the hobby.

I want to of course listen to the local police/fire/ems etc, but I also enjoy exploring everything else, so I want something that performs well across the full frequency spectrum. Im not well versed on the digital aspect of these new scanners but I plan to learn. Everything was pretty easy when I was into it - you just punched in the frequency you wanted and that was that. So, what is a good scanner for this outdated former enthusiast ?

I live in a very rural area, my local law enforcement do not use any trunk or digital system - they use the same frequencies today as they did when I listened years ago I believe.