Total Newb looking for a little guidance

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgatesmail

Premium Subscriber
I should have probably come here first and learned what kind of scanner to purchase and maybe even a pre programmed one at that but, I didn't so now I need a little help. Where should I go for a little help with programming my new Uniden BC346XTC? I am a member on radio reference and have purchased the ScanPro program but, I need a little help with programming my radio for Jefferson county, Lakewood, Colorado. Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you, James

kmi8dy

oooooops

i took a quick look at your county and city and bad news, there on a digital p25 phase 1 system , sooooo you will not be able to pick up any law, ems or fire. so if you can return the scanner, quickly. if you can!
ok, now that the bad news is over. all i own is uniden scanners. i have a bcd396xt, bcd996xt, and i just purchased a bcd996p2. i very strongly suggest you stay with uniden. i bought all of mine from amazon. also i suggest you buy the uniden 325p2 that is if you want a hand held, or the bcd996p2 desk top / portable. they are both the same scanner except the 325p2 is a hand held and the 996p2 is a table top / portable
bcd396xt is older then the bcd325p2 and now is more expensive then the newer bcd325p2 because it is not being made anymore, so everybody raised the price. the bcd325p2 is more radio for your buck, and is a newer radio 1 to 3 years now. where the bcd996xt is probly going on 6 to 8 years maybe 10 years now.
i use free scan to program all my scanners and is just as it says FREE. it took me 2 or 3 days to get the hang of it, but after that i could program in my sleep. and i am not computer literate by no means.
i've been listening since i was 12 or 14 years old and i am 59 now.